We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$0 - US$239
CUISINES
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood, Asian
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
View all details
features, about
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
19
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
19
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omakase sushi each piece concierge yen chef foreigners dish japan
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 5, 2020

I only discovered this place from a recommendation by the Amex Plat concierge and booked a reservation for lunch. The omakase was wonderful for its price. This is a great place to get an upscale omakase experience without breaking the bank. The chef was very...kind in explaining the differences between the cuts of fish and such. I'd definitely go again.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed November 16, 2019 via mobile

Recommend by the concierge at the Park Hyatt as one of the top places in Tokyo for sushi, we embarked on an amazing culinary experience at Sushi Tou. Carefully crafted gourmet sushi, slowly and timely served, we were amazed! You can pick from three sushi...selections and the magic starts to happen in front of your eyes... I always like to experience the real culture when I visit another country and Sushi Tou offered just that. Loved when I walked in and saw mostly locals. I knew then that I was in the right place. The staff was extremely kind and pleasant. Kudos to our sushi chef Uryo and waitress Sayo. You made our experience unforgettable! Just loved the intimate vibe of Sushi Tou. The neighborhood where Sushi Tou is located is darling so we took a little time after dinner to stroll through the narrow residential streets around the resto. Lastly, make reservations because the place only sits about 11-12 people at a time. Sushi Tou was an amazing experience you will not want to miss! Enjoy.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed October 13, 2019

One fo the highlights of our trip - we went on the last night in Japan. The staff were so sweet and accommodating. I have a nut allergy and they went out of their way to ensure I had a great experience. The chefs were...smart and charming, offering us helpful tips on how to eat and enjoy each and every dish. We felt right at home in what could be an intimidating experience for sushi newbies conscious of following proper Japanese etiquette. The food was incredible and definitely the best sushi/sashimi I have ever eaten. Fabulous hidden gem of a restaurant and chef Matsumoto was a delight.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
SUSHI_TOU_STAFF, マネージャー at Sushi Tou, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2019

Dear Customer Thank you for choosing our restaurant. We're happy to help you make wonderful memories of your stay in Japan. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Regards, SUSHI TOU

Reviewed October 11, 2019

We went to Sushi Tou as our first night of our honeymoon in Japan. We were suffering from a bit of jet lag, and as such overslept an afternoon nap and were running late. The concierge of our hotel called them to let them know,...and they had no problem accommodating us being late and were so kind! The sushi was incredible! We had the omakase menu and loved each step. The chef told us how to eat each piece. It was very special to watch the care he put into each piece. After we finished, we needed a taxi as it was raining, and the chef ran out to the Main Street to get one for us. We were so surprised by the level of service we received! Thank you sushi you for helping us kick off our honeymoon on such a wonderful note!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
SUSHI_TOU_STAFF, マネージャー at Sushi Tou, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2019

Dear Customer Thank you for choosing our restaurant for wonderful memories of your honeymoon. We are really happy too. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Regards, SUSHI TOU

Reviewed June 11, 2019

I came across Sushi Tou by accident whilst wondering around the area. I looked at the menu and decided to return at opening time for dinner and was fortunate to get a seat without a booking. Very impressed by the quality of service and food....It deserves its high ranking for its food. I've been twice now, each time having the omokase menu, and have recommended the restaurant to several friends.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
SUSHI_TOU_STAFF, マネージャー at Sushi Tou, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

Dear Dragonscreech , thank you for reviewing us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our sushi. We are constantly making efforts and growing. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Having grown up with the likes of sushi jiro and sushi Saito, I totally get why foreigners to Japan love sushi tou. It's friendly and a accessible yet with good enough quality. Our dinner was 66000 yen for 2 pax. It was enjoyable yet I...know my snobbish Japanese friends with high end snooty noses would frown on some of the dishes. For them, traditional high quality ingredients is worth more than service or innovation. Anyway, I enjoyed myself and am happy with the 66000 yen I spent for 2. It's not the best, but good enough.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
SUSHI_TOU_STAFF, マネージャー at Sushi Tou, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

Dear Queenfoodi. Thank you for reviewing us. We are glad that you ate a pleasant meal with your Japanese friends in our restaurant. Next, We will try to make the Japanese friends more satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again. SUSHI TOU

Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

This was recommended by our hotel, they are a 10 seat place and have 3 set menu options. We went with the 6 piece appetizer and 10 sashimi course (18K yen a person). All courses were very delicious and the chef explained each one and...how we should eat it. Fun to watch the chefs prepare everything in front of us.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
SUSHI_TOU_STAFF, マネージャー at Sushi Tou, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Dear Guest , Thank you for reviewing us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our sushi. We look forward to your next visit. SUSHI TOU

Reviewed December 3, 2018 via mobile

Neighborhood sushi spot only 10 seats. Every dish and piece of sushi was super. Staff nice and speak English very well. Make sure you got a reservation!

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed October 1, 2018

All I can say is - WOW. Have you ever eaten something so good you had to have a silent moment? Every dish makes you feel that way at Sushi Tou. We didn't have any expectations coming in to Sushi Tou because it's normally very...hard to book amazing sushi restaurants last minute. We came for lunch and were the only customers (which honestly made it an even better experience! felt like private dining!) but were completely blown away by the incredible service, attention to detail, and of course - the food. The chef was kind, spoke English and was so patient with us, taking care to teach us the best way to eat each course. Each course was absolutely out of this world! The fish was so fresh and prepared so incredibly well. The team also worked so well together it was almost like a well-practiced dance. Let's talk about above and beyond service and preparation -- every time I come to Tokyo, I will come here - and I would recommend it to anyone! The value for money is amazing especially for lunch - it's also tucked away in a very cute and residential neighborhood. The decor is comforting and authentic. I can't rave enough about this place! I never write reviews, but this place I absolutely just had to! We had the Lunch Oyakata and were extremely happy with our choice!More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We tried many expensive omakase sushi restaurants (including the infamous Jiro), and Sushi Tou was our best meal. Plus the staff were the most friendly. Incredible experience and very highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
SUSHI_TOU_STAFF, マネージャー at Sushi Tou, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Marc H , thank you for reviewing us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our sushi. We are constantly making efforts and growing. We look forward to your next visit.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Akasaka / Roppongi
Not so long ago the Akasaka and Roppongi areas were
famous for their nightlife, high-class restaurants,
bars and clubs. More recently, with the opening of
Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown and Akasaka Sacas, the
area has declared itself as the most fashionable spot
to be seen. The area also hosts the National Art
Center and the Mori Art Museum and lots of trendy art
galleries.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Super Hotel Lohas Akasaka
280 reviews
1.98 km away
Hotel Okura Tokyo South Wing
1,837 reviews
1.98 km away
Hotel Felice Akasaka
110 reviews
1.98 km away
INNSOMNIA akasaka
312 reviews
1.83 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Butagumi
150 reviews
.01 km away
Nishiazabu Taku
56 reviews
.04 km away
These
34 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Nezu Museum
874 reviews
.41 km away
Chokokuji Temple
15 reviews
.29 km away
Catholic Azabu Church
6 reviews
.34 km away
Nishiazabu Muse
6 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sushi Tou staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing