We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$29 - US$48
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
62
20
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
62
20
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonkatsu pork sirloin fish soup shredded cabbage cuts of meat residential area visit tokyo roppongi hills pickles region sauce deluxe crispiest japan breed okinawa
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 17, 2020

My friend was raving about this place so much that I had to try it when in Tokyo! And so we did last week, we ordered the 'ryuka - ton' from Okinawa thick slice deluxe sirloin and it was the bomb! Is all about the...pork... Crispy batter, fried to perfection and the meat was juicy at the same time. Location abit off Roppongi hills, so taxi is a better option unless you're willing to walk. Food quality, prices and services are excellent. Suggest to make a booking to avoid any disappointment as most restaurants have limited seating. Will go back again when we're in Tokyo for sure.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 27, 2020 via mobile

Butagumi is a must-go in Shibuya, Tokyo. We went there for dinner and loved the tonkatsu. Staff were very friendly and patient. They explained the differences among the various cuts and were able to advise what we should get. You can expect a crispy, juicy...tonkatsu at Butagumi. Two things to remember: 1. Book in advance to avoid disappointment. 2. Do not wear a perfume, you will be denied entry (even if your have a reservation).More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 31, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant specializes in Buta or Pork. The service was awesome and the food was awesome too! To finish your meal you can have pork ramen!

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 7, 2019

We walked here from Shibuya Station. It took about 30 minutes and we arrived 15 minutes prior to opening (Open @ 11:00am). It was a Thursday morning and there were already 7 people ahead of us waiting for the shop to open. Once the staff...put out their "Open" sign, hosts and hostess received people that were waiting outside and ushered them to their tables. Unfortunately we were the last party left waiting outside and no one came back outside to gather us :( Upon entering the restaurant, the kitchen is immediately to your right side. There are two floors to the restaurant. We sat upstairs in a small dining room with 4 tables total. We were immediately served ice water. After taking our order we were brought Salad, Rice, and Miso Soup (all of which are unlimited). I really wish I could remember what I ordered specifically, my fiancee ordered a thick cut while I had a thinner cut. In hindsight I wish I had tried the Tonkatsu Curry (just for variation). The katsu sauce was thick and flavorful. The Miso Soup was so good I drank 3 bowls of it. All in all the entire meal was less than $40.00 and we were STUFFED. I can't recommend this place enough :)More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

Must try to the smoked mozzarella cheese! Staff are sweet and have good recommendation for beer & wine. Need to reserve beforehand - English is ok to use menu is fully translated.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

I visited Butagumi at the end of April and three months later the memory is still strongly etched in my mind. Tucked away in the Minato City area in Tokyo, blink and your miss it. My Uber driver kindly took me right to the door....Note: you have to get there early as people start queueing. I was a bit too keen and got there at 10:30! It doesnt open till 11:30 and in the wonderful Japanese way - not a second before or after. Thankfully it’s near the Roppongi area so you can go for a little walk and got to the mall etc. 11:30 arrived! I was third in the queue. I was greeted at the door and asked for a table for one. I was then escorted upstairs to the dining area and to my table. I’d previously watched a Mark Weins video about this restaurant and he had to take his shoes off, but neither I or the other diners had to do so. Butugami has regional and seasonal pork. Sadly I forgot the name of the breed I had but it was a boar of some kind. I’m salivating just writing this! My waiter took my order and spoke great English. I was offered an amuse bouche of tomatoes with some sort of yuzu dressing. They were incredible!!!! Next up the main attraction - the Tonkatsu. Now don’t expect your usual Wagamamas style Katsu curry that we get in Europe. This is a lot more refined. The meat, coated in super crispy, light Panko breadcrumbs arrived on a delicate China plate with grate to catch the juices! That’s right - this pork is served medium! Don’t let that put you off. This is Japan - you won’t get sick!! That means the meat is so tender and juicy. Next you get some shredded cabbage, pickles & miso soup. Next to that is the sauce which you add to a bowl to dip into as well as some ponzu vinaigrette for your cabbage. I can not describe how amazing this meal was. Everything was so tasty. The Tonkatsu was simply incredible. Butugami take so much care and pride over the food they serve and you really get that feeling. Can’t wait to go back. I accompanied my meal with a delightful Japanese beer. It’s not cheap. I paid around £40 in total but would happily pay double that! Till next time Butugami! Dōmo arigatōgozaimashitaMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

Having researched where to get Tonkatsu in Japan, we found Butagumi and it did not disappoint! There are multiple cuts of pork available to choose from as a part of the lunch special. We both had the sirloin and it was delicious - perfectly cooked....The staff was very welcoming as well. We will definitely return next time we are in Tokyo!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 31, 2019

Tucked away in a residential area, in a quiet back street of an up scale neighborhood, You can miss this restaurant if you are not actually looking for it. No doubt the tonkatsu was one of the best the family has eaten (me being vegetarian,...i stuck with just the curry), it definitely would help if there was some basic etiquette from the staff. The person taking our order seemed to be having a bad day and whilst placing our order, one of our party asked for water and he said the equivalent of " hang onto your horses". As someone having previously lived many a years in japan and speaking fluent japanese, this is something that is so uncharacteristic of the ever so polite japanese people specially if there was no instigation to react in such a manner. Yes, definitely go for the food, the quaint atmosphere, gawk at the many awards displayed but if a restaurant does not treat its "okyaksama" politely, i was one am not visiting it again. My generous three star is for the food only, not for the waiter that thought his ill manners would be compensated by the food.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed May 4, 2019

The best quality and variety of pork Tonkatsu anywhere. The special sauces added to the amazing experience as did the friendly service. The only negative is that you shouldn't book through Voyagin as their reservation misleading fee turned out to be the same cost as...the entire dinner! insane, but a most memorable meal all the same.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Wonderful pork katsu with extremely high quality pork. We went with friends that have lived in Japan for a while. The restaurant is a quaint 2 story stand along house. My friends recommended the upstairs seating which is in individual booths (but beware on a...hot day as the air conditioning is not that great). Most of us had curry along with the pork katsu with lots of the shredded cabbage! Soooo good.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Akasaka / Roppongi
Not so long ago the Akasaka and Roppongi areas were
famous for their nightlife, high-class restaurants,
bars and clubs. More recently, with the opening of
Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown and Akasaka Sacas, the
area has declared itself as the most fashionable spot
to be seen. The area also hosts the National Art
Center and the Mori Art Museum and lots of trendy art
galleries.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Felice Akasaka
110 reviews
1.99 km away
Hotel Okura Tokyo South Wing
1,837 reviews
1.99 km away
Akasaka Urban Hotel
17 reviews
1.98 km away
Hotel Excellent Ebisu
66 reviews
1.98 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nishiazabu Taku
56 reviews
.05 km away
Sushi Tou
36 reviews
.01 km away
These
34 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Nezu Museum
874 reviews
.41 km away
Chokokuji Temple
15 reviews
.28 km away
Catholic Azabu Church
6 reviews
.34 km away
Nishiazabu Muse
6 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Cheens1215
March 22, 2017|
Answer
Response from 647carlh | Reviewed this property |
Yes, very likely.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing