We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$300
CUISINES
Japanese, Kaiseki, Kyoto cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
28
8
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
28
8
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sashimis bamboo shoots shark fin soup rice sushi kaiseki cuisine wonderful dinner courses michelin presentation chef palate tokyo concierge freshness
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 22, 2019 via mobile

I have to preface this review by saying that amongst all the cuisine choices that are available, seafood is typically my least favorite. With that disclosure, I can say that the food here is excellent, and if I were just a bit more in love...with seafood, this could’ve been one of my favorite restaurants. As it is though the meal for me was good but not mind blowing, but that has nothing to do with their quality or presentation, it has everything to do with my palate. If you enjoy seafood, you will LOVE Akasaka Kikunoi.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 8, 2019 via mobile

Kyoto style Kaseiki dinner is for special occasion. So it was here our party came to enjoy chef Yoshihiro Murata’s delicate yet flavorful cuisine. Most memorably of this 2*Michelin eatery was: Hassun for artistry and texture (ginkgo nuts were sublime); Mukouzuke for freshness and contrast...between raw and marinated fish; Hutamono for delicacy of eel and mushroom broth in an earthen pot. Memorable!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Thanks to our hotel’s concierge, we were able to get a last minute reservation at the restaurant. What a wonderful dinner we had! We received a very warm welcome on arrival and once our set menu had been selected, the courses started rolling in. The...first starter box had a variety of starters including green beans, caviar and sushi and was garnished with some cherry blossoms. The subsequent courses were rolling in like clockwork. We enjoyed a number of delicacies including shark fin soup, various sashimis, squid, steamed bamboo shoots and rice of course! Dessert was a tasty lemon curd. The restaurant offered a wide selection of sake, which we sampled generously. As the staff were not fully English proficient, they provided us with write ups for each course, and we found that pretty useful! Need to know what you’re eating! The portions were quite generous, leaving us fairly stuffed. In terms of ambience, the restaurant is quite plain and minimalist, which is perhaps not that unusual in Japan. Once we were done, the staff saw us to our car, which was very courteous indeed. All in all, a wonderful night of Kaiseki cuisine! Will certainly be back.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

My 4th or 5th time here and worth every time. Nice ambience with counter seating. Great courses of kyoto kaiseiki. Each dish of the 11 course meal is exquisite, and so is the friendly service. They change the menu every month, so i certainly will...be backMore

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

We had a dinner with friends at Kikunoi in Tokyo and were hugely disappointed. The setting was dull and service average for Japan. More importantly, the food was not enjoyable - a heavy, hearty affair - so unlike amazing, rifined food we came to expect...from Japan’s top restaurants. Turtle and sharkfin soup was OK, but heavy. The combination of duck and trout in one dish didn’t work. There was too much bamboo (3 dishes). Large portions left us feeling stuffed at the end of the meal. Avoid.More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

We’ve enjoyed the autumn Keiseki - as always some of the courses are a bit a stretch for western tastebuds, but that is the fun of it! The restaurant itself is uninspiring and doesn’t create a warm atmosphere, it could equally be a physicians waiting...room. What we found way below average was the service, beyond the obvious language barrier this as not up to any Michelin Star - topped by the fact that the cashier didn’t realize that our credit card requires a pin and told us that the card is not accepted. Would not return next time in Tokyo but could imagine trying the main restaurnant in Kyoto.More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?1  
Reviewed June 19, 2017

Having been to Kikunoi in Kyoto a few years ago, we had high expectations for our dinner at Kikunoi Asakasa. Whilst it did not disappoint, it did not reach the heights of the wonderful dinner we had years ago....probably should have gone in without so...much expectations or pre-conceived notion of what the dinner would be like. The summer kaiseki was pretty good, although not amazing like the winter kaiseki we had before. There was an element of repetition with ingredients and techniques which made the experience somewhat mundane. Service was excellent, although not as graceful as in Kyoto.More

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed April 14, 2017

I know Kikunoi has two starts, and I know the people there are very nice and hospitable, but the food just wasn't very good. Fancy? Yes. Elaborate? Yes. Delicious? No. I had much better kaiseki and other restaurants and hotels. The stars that Kikunoi has...received are just mystifying.More

Date of visit: March 2017
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 8, 2017

Having eaten at Narisawa two nights earlier and then Sushi Ozaki we were fully expecting Kikunoi to be the highlight of our dining in Tokyo. It could have not been less so. While Narisawa was brilliant in execution, elegance and substance. Kikunoi was characterized by...chaotic service, dishes so complicated that no one ingredient could shine and flavors that were muddled and in some cases ruined by the preperation ( uni cooked in an abalone dish with piles of seaweed a case in point). Staff seemed totally at bay, a printed menu had so many ingredients listed for each dish that there was no way anyone thing could stand out. 8 small salads were each lacking in any wow factor. Sake service was sloppy and we were told we had consumed all our our sake and should order another while there was still plenty in a carafe. 20,0000 more. The only wow factor was the bill. Not worth a special journey and not even if it was next door. Go to Narisawa if you can get in. This was a best a 1 star meal, if that.More

Date of visit: March 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

Superb kaiseki and excellent service! Worth every 2 stars! To catch all the action, request to seat at the counter. Kudos to Chef Murata and team!

Date of visit: February 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Akasaka / Roppongi
Not so long ago the Akasaka and Roppongi areas were
famous for their nightlife, high-class restaurants,
bars and clubs. More recently, with the opening of
Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown and Akasaka Sacas, the
area has declared itself as the most fashionable spot
to be seen. The area also hosts the National Art
Center and the Mori Art Museum and lots of trendy art
galleries.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lively Azabujuban Tokyo
57 reviews
1.45 km away
Hotel Le Port Kojimachi
111 reviews
1.38 km away
Hotel & Residence Roppongi Hotel S
246 reviews
1.36 km away
Toshi Center Hotel
502 reviews
1.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Esse Due Akasaka
62 reviews
.05 km away
Kaisuian
20 reviews
.06 km away
Standing Bar Nakaya
6 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hikawa Shrine
144 reviews
.26 km away
akasaka Sacas
203 reviews
.33 km away
ACT Akasaka Theatre
40 reviews
.37 km away
Hodo Temple
15 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rodneyh405
August 20, 2017|
Answer
Response from 616AlexW |
For lunch box, it should be around 5000 yen. For set lunch, the cost should be around 10000 yen.
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing