We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Dining bars
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
24
13
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
24
13
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza salad without reservation too salty crust margherita marinara cheese tokyo azabu sides world seats
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 9, 2020 via mobile

This is not an italian pizzeria. This is an obscene fake japanese place. I’m allergic to tomato and cheese, so we ordered one pizza marinara AND one focaccia. We specified that no tomato nor cheese should be on it. The focaccia arrived absolutely burnt and...the marinara never arrived. The waiter had understood that we ordered a marinara without tomato!! Since the focaccia wasn’t on the menu, we paid it 1760¥, because they considered they made a marinara (1600¥) and added 160¥ because THEY HAD MODIFIED IT! The waiter didn’t know the ingredients of the Cesar’s salad and what kind of sauce was, that on its side. In Italy if you act like that, your pizzeria will close in 2 days.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 6, 2019

Ive been to Tokyo 7 times in the past year. Every trip includes a team outing to Pizzastrada.jp A short walk from the Azabu Juban train station. We all agree its the best pizza anywhere. Open late but if you come with more than one...friend you will likely need a reservation. They sell out of tables most nite but usually room for one or two at the bar. The crust is the difference. Wood fired oven cooks in less than 1 minute. Even the side dishes are awesome.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 17, 2019

Who would have thought that the best pizza in the world is available in Japan! We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food here, we ordered the Margherita and the quality of ingredients was high - the olive oil was out of this world....We also ordered a number of sides with the anchovy broccoli being a standout. The ice cold Asahi super dry on tap (so cold that the tap was almost icing over) was especially refreshing.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed June 10, 2019

As usually when in Japan I visit Pizza Strada but the place have changed since last year. I have always been able to go here without reservation and just wait for a free seat. This time I had to try to get a table twice....The first time I was told it was full due to reservations. The place was only half full and only a few places was tagged with reserved. I asked how long the wait was but did not get any answer than reservation only in a rather rude way. Ok, so I left the place a bit surprised that they didnt answer me with 20 minutes or something like that. Anyways I walked pass 45 minutes later after eating at a nearby place and the place was still only half full. (i could easily have eaten a pizza in that time). Also many of the guests that were there when I stopped by the first time was now gone and the seats were not tagged with reserved. So i went in and now I could get a seat. Really? What happened to reserved only that they said 45 minutes earlier. However I was full and didnt want a table but to make a reservation for the next evening. So fast forward. I came back the next day since I had a reservation. They were stilling saying reservation only to people asking for a seat. The funny thing was that during my meal there the place was never more than half full. They could easily fit in more people or just ask them to wait in line. The previous times I've been here there have never been any issues waiting for a seat if they are fully booked and I have never been told to bug off in such a rude manner before. The pizza is still good and its worth a visit as long as you make a reservation first. But honestly I will not be going back here if they keep doing this. Especially after I found out the person putting Pizza Strada on the map has opened a new pizza place just 1 subway station a way and it got better pizza and friendlier staff. Im removing 2 stars due to the rude way I was turned away and seeing that this is the rule not the exception.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

I ordered a pizza with anchovies. First I thought the anchovies were just forgotten. But then I had exactly one bite with an estimated amount of 0,5 grams of anchovies in it. Just one. The pizza was generally okay, but that's a no go.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

If you have the strong urge for a pizza this may do the trick, but it’s nothing special. No element is particularly flavorful, so underwhelming as a whole. The arugula salad was pretty good but the broccoli side was overcooked and too salty. There are...surely better pizza options nearby but we had not made a plan in advance and there was seating available here.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

This is our favourite pizzeria in Tokyo... and the world! Can’t praise it enough, we go there once a week :) the staff is very welcoming, and knows us well by now...

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 9, 2018

I enjoyed the pizza I had, but I've had better elsewhere (in the US and China). However, one of our party grew up in New York and he was in rapture about the pizza - in fact, as we were staying only a block away,...he ate there about 5 times in 12 days.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

The pizza is amazing here! One of the best outside of Naples! The only other place of similar quality is Savoy, also in Tokyo Applying Japanese precision to an Italian hero!

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on our last night in Tokyo. Wow trust me if you love wood fire pizza and appreciate the flavors of the toppings this is the perfect location for you. Both myself and my girlfriend had 2 different pizzas and they were amazing....Even the sides are tasty. Staff are very friendly good English and understand your likes and dislikesMore

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Akasaka / Roppongi
Not so long ago the Akasaka and Roppongi areas were
famous for their nightlife, high-class restaurants,
bars and clubs. More recently, with the opening of
Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown and Akasaka Sacas, the
area has declared itself as the most fashionable spot
to be seen. The area also hosts the National Art
Center and the Mori Art Museum and lots of trendy art
galleries.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Villa Fontaine Hamamatsucho
137 reviews
1.87 km away
Hotel LiveMax Akasaka
3 reviews
1.87 km away
Sanco Inn Grande Tokyo Hamamatsucho
71 reviews
1.80 km away
Keikyu Ex Inn Hamamatsucho Daimon Ekimae
5 reviews
1.84 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sushiya no Matsukan Azabu Honten
45 reviews
.06 km away
Dairen Gyoza Kichi Dalian Azabujuban
45 reviews
.03 km away
Piccolo Grande
31 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Azabujuban Noryo Matsuri
48 reviews
.21 km away
Amishiro Park
6 reviews
.16 km away
Kimichan Statue
23 reviews
.21 km away
Elana Jade
5 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pizza Strada staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing