We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • Tokyo's Dazzling Dining Scene | Where to Eat Now | Hideaway Reporthideawayreport.com

Details

CUISINES
Japanese
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
72
21
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
72
21
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sweet potato tempura prawns fries omakase wonderful evening your plate hotel concierge delicious meal set menu oil michelin ingredients vegetables master counter piece chefs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 27, 2020

Really enjoyed a freindly atmosphere and tasty food cooked in front of your eyes. The place is small but perfectly maintained. Reservations are advisable. This was a wonderful introduction to the art of tempura cooking.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 15, 2020

The restaurant lived up to its reputation indeed. We were lucky to have the pleasure of being seated at the counter with the master himself at helm. Every piece of tempura was fantastic though I would say the famous sweet potato which was ordered as...an add-on was not as "mind-blowing" as expected. The portion of the sweet potato was rather generous too as the 1 portion I ordered for the 4 of us turned out to be still quite a lot. Should have ordered the carrot as it looked amazing but by then I was too full :-) Booking was done easily via the hotel concierge about 1 month before. Overall I thought I probably prefer Fukamachi a little more but that's just a personal thing which does not detract from the excellent tempura here!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Tempura cooked by an experienced chef who knows what he is doing - a master. Keeping the batter just right, the temperature and quantity of the oil constant and using the freshest ingredients. The food is served and eaten as cooked and put on your...plate. Each dish was crispy and freshly, not stodgy or oily or cold or cloying. Come to slowly consider and savour the dishes, immerse yourself in the food and technique in front of you.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 13, 2019 via mobile

We had a delicious meal. Ordered the middle dinner should have ordered the first one with les food. The batter was light. Service friendly.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 13, 2019

We were very excited to get reservations here. The food is famous for a reason. You could never ask for a lighter, crisper tempura dinner. But...the atmosphere is oppressively stiff. There is no music and virtually no art or decoration. The service is attentive to...a fault; the staff hovers over you to make sure every empty plate is removed as quickly as possible. I am not exaggerating. This is a place where people whisper and honor the food. Not a place to laugh and enjoy a meal with loved ones. If you had a good time here, it would feel like you were misbehaving. I'm not a loud person, but this place is really hush hush. If your only interest is perfect food, this restaurant delivers and you won't be disappointed. But hear my warning, the vibe here is so calm it's painful.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 9, 2019

My wife's family joined us here and we had a wonderful evening!! I never tried this before, greeeat experience I can tell you. The taste is very distinct, difficult to compare with something else. But it's good. The chef came also by to greet us,...always a pleasure to see the team behind. Our table was filled with plenty of local dishes, recommended to you too to try as much as possible and go with more people. With two you won't finish it.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 3, 2019

Consistently one of the best meals in Tokyo. The only negative is it ruins tempura at other places. Maybe order the smaller omakase, as we were stuffed before the final desert!

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 8, 2019

If you like tempura this is the best in the world!!! Taste what ever the chef wants and its going to be the best.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

It was only a last minute reservation, and we were lucky to have made our way to this renowned restuarant on a celebrity chef’s recommendation (and we ordered additonal famous items including uni tempura which was awesome. Even Obamada had to give it a miss...because the owner-chef tuned down Abe’s request to close off for a US presidential visit dinner). Always easy to prepare but very difficult to excel as a cuisine, our set menu started with big live prawns onto oil blotting paper within 10 mins. How difficult for patrons to have tempura prawn elsewhere! To play devil’s advocate, if one was not convinced how good Kondo’s tempura were with the “speedy” dish of prawn, their sweet potato tempura (also an extra order to the set meun) should do justice - it took over 40 mins to deep fry a cross section of a 8cm wide root vegetable. All various kinds of fish were great - golden brown and moist but never oily - and so were the vegetables items, including baby onion. Most remarkable dish was ginger flower. Never had this before which gives the flavour of ginger without its spiciness. It was a very traditional tempura cuisine, nothing fancy at all. Limited selection of alcoholic drinks and only serving house sake, either hot or cold. Beer perhaps (as it always has been) the best drink for tempura.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

I first heard about Tempura Kondo on the Japanese Style Originator Netflix series. After learning about the etiquette of eating tempura and reading reviews, I decided to give this place a try. I’m so glad I did! It was enjoyable sitting on the counter and...watching chef Kondo prepare the different varieties of tempura. The food was absolutely delicious and the staff were very friendly. I highly recommend this place if you’re in Tokyo!More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ginza is famous for being a trendy hotspot, but it's
also a downtown area with shops that were founded over
a hundred years ago. Department stores and luxury
boutiques line the route from Nihonbashi to Ginza.
It's a long established tradition to shop and stroll
while the road is closed to traffic. Luxury hotels,
world class cuisine from talented chefs, and a
collection of glitzy clubs will make this area popular
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
HOTEL UNIZO Shimbashi
132 reviews
.91 km away
Hotel Amanek Ginza East
16 reviews
.90 km away
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza
574 reviews
.63 km away
Hotel Intergate Tokyo Kyobashi
164 reviews
.84 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ginza Seamon
166 reviews
.00 km away
Ginza Koju
123 reviews
.03 km away
Pierre Marcolini Ginza Honten
76 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ginza Maison Hermes Le Forum
13 reviews
.08 km away
Ginza Willow Festival
21 reviews
.10 km away
Galerie Nichido
7 reviews
.09 km away
Takuboku Ishikawa Poetry Monument
15 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cozyjourney
December 27, 2018|
Answer
Response from JAMEQ | Reviewed this property |
Yes, dinner set is more expensive than lunch but I believed the ingredients may be slightly different. Do give it a try.
0
Votes
rainfoodie
June 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jokolovksi | Reviewed this property |
I pre-ordered my set lunch when booking and wasn’t even presented with a menu on arrival. I think they only serve set courses but if you have any favourites I can’t imagine they would refuse to make them if you make a... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
658jess
March 26, 2018|
Answer
Response from splendidc2018 | Reviewed this property |
I think it will be difficult. The place is small and rather quiet.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing