We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#10 of 141 Cafe in Taito
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$29
CUISINES
Cafe
Meals
Breakfast
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
5
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
5
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 19, 2019 via mobile

You don't know how to start your day badly? go to this coffee shop. Guys, seriously, if you don’t know how to make italian coffee drinks, just remove it from the menu.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic coffee shop. I had the Bach brew and it was great. Not cheap but worth a visit! Service is also great.

Date of visit: January 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed December 13, 2017 via mobile

I came here several times while I was in Tokyo since it was within walking distance of my hostel (Hotel New Koyo). The coffee was good and the bread and jam were always fresh. Plus, the interior is beautiful; I love all of the benches!

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed May 28, 2016

A long time ago, before Starbucks hit the shores of Japan, this country had fabulous coffee, made by the drip method. In the morning there was nothing better than going to your local kissaten and having their morning set of toast, egg, salad and drip-brewed...coffee. The Japanese attention to presentation and taste was apparent. So, it is wonderful to visit Cafe Bach, which is a more elegant, perhaps artful, version of the neighborhood kissaten. The food menu is small - toast (with or without butter and jam) and "daily bread". But the coffee menu is extensive! Jars of beans each with a different origin line the shelves above the coffee bar where the head coffee maker lines up the carafes to prepare each order of coffee. Very significantly, Cafe Bach has no smoke odour, which in other kissaten is an unfortunate and inadvertent outcome of the Starbucks invasion: by outlawing smoking at Starbucks, all the non-smokers go there, whereas the smokers get their caffeine (and nicotine) fixes at the traditional kissaten. Nowadays I would never venture into a regular kissaten for fear of being assaulted by the smoke. But at Cafe Bach, it is possible to go back in time when the Japanese prepared and served coffee almost like in a tea ceremony. Thank you, Cafe Bach, for rising above and maintaining a true coffee cognoscenti experience since 1968!More

Date of visit: May 2016
Helpful?
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

コーヒー通にも有名な喫茶店ですが、全く気取ったところのない居心地のよいお店です。 近所のおじちゃんおばちゃんがおしゃべりに花を咲かせています。 自家焙煎のコーヒーが美味しいのはもちろん、お店で作るケーキがどれもとても美味しいですよ。 シュークリームがピカイチですが、予約だけで売り切れてしまうこともあるそうなので、あったらラッキー。 あまり詳しくない私はいつもバッハブレンドですが、酸味もなくとても飲みやすいです。 マイルドブレンドからは少々酸味があります。 また店員さんもぱりっとしてて、礼儀正しいけれども気さくで、接客も気持ち良いです。 どんな有名店より私はバッハが一番好きです。 Japanese traditional style coffee shop. Nice coffee, nice cakes. This is my favorite coffee shop in Tokyo!

Date of visit: February 2016
Helpful?
Reviewed October 14, 2015

If you're somebody who gets flummoxed by an extensive menu of coffee blends then this cafe probably isn't for you. But if you like good coffee, served with a smile, in a relaxed setting, then you should drop in to Cafe Bach. Whilst the cafes...ties to the greatest classical composer of the 18th Century are a bit sketchy (he might well have enjoyed drinking here but I don't speak Japanese so was unable to enquire) it's dedication to the great man and his work is pretty solid - his greatest hits were piped out for the duration of each of my visits, and as such, it's a real oasis of calm in a rather bleak poking street. It's not somewhere to stop for lunch as the coffee is very much the star of the show.More

Date of visit: October 2015
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Ueno, Asakusa
Traces of the history and culture of the Edo (old
Tokyo) era remain vividly in Ueno and Asakusa.
Spacious Ueno Park is a great place to relax and visit
a variety of different museums and galleries. At
Ameyoko which starts in front of Ueno station, the
grocery stores and clothing shops are crammed
alongside fishmongers. It gets particularly busy at
the end of the year, when many people go on shopping
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Onyado Nono Asakusa
16 reviews
1.41 km away
Akari Ueno Iriya
6 reviews
1.40 km away
New Hotel Bandung
11 reviews
1.02 km away
Toyoko Inn Tokyo Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express
124 reviews
1.19 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Makotoya
.02 km away
Chufukuro Main Store
1 review
.04 km away
Sanya Cafe Tokyo
6 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kozukappara Execution Grounds
37 reviews
.64 km away
Ishihama Joshi Park
6 reviews
.72 km away
Kubikiri Jizo
8 reviews
.60 km away
Ichiyo Museum
45 reviews
.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cafe Bach staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing