We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$29
CUISINES
Cafe
FEATURES
Seating, Cash Only

Location and contact

Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
0.3 km from Shibuya Center-gai
Improve this listing
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
8
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
8
7
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 15, 2019

I really enjoyed going to this place with my friend. I had a cinnamon cappuccino and a slice tea chiffon cake. The coffee was good and the cake was soooo moist! It was literally perfect. I already miss that cake! Yes it's not the cheapest...place but it's not crazy expensive either, I definitely think it's worth a visit. The atmosphere is cozy and I really like the laid back vintage-y decor. The only thing I disliked however was customers being allowed to smoke inside. So if you are not into that you might not want to come here. That honestly put me off. But other than that, this is a great place to go!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

In terms of quality, the drinks & desserts are pretty great. I’d recommend the chocolate & coffee over the milk tea, because there’s nothing too unique about the tea. Cakes are all very yummy too! HOWEVER, in all honesty, the drinks are extremely overpriced. Each...coffee is about 9.50 USD and the milk tea was more than 10 USD. Cakes were more reasonably priced BUT each customer has to purchase a drink upon entry, even if you just want to eat the cake. This really brings down the experience in the cafe, especially since objectively, all the things on the menu are already expensive. The cafe is also pretty small (means waiting time can get long especially for big groups) & for some weird reason photo taking is strictly prohibited (so I just took photos of the food) Disclaimer: it may also be a turn-off for some but indoor smoking is welcomed there so be wary. The smoke stench was not a fun time. For a 1 time experience, sure 4 stars. But I doubt I’ll be making another visit there anytime soon.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?3  
Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

We came to this cafe as it was in a convenient location but also very traditional. We just wanted to have cheesecake however they told us that we had to also buy one drink each even if we didn't want to. We thought that was...unnecessary given tea costed close to 1000 yen per cup! And they don't even give you a teapot to refill!! Also the service was very slow! Shocking!More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

The taste and vibe were amazing. Nice and cozy place. Really good hot chocolate and tea. My husband says it was the best cheesecake he ever had.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 1, 2019

The vibe at this place is incredible... it's like a quiet hole-in-the-wall tea spot, but for coffee. The coffee is delicious and they also make an amazing chiffon cake. Really enjoyed this spot and I think it's one of the best coffee experiences in Tokyo.

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem. Came here around 2PM on a Monday - was very busy with mostly locals. We had tea and the chiffon maple cake. The cake was so moist and just the right amount of sweetness. We were in the Shibuya...area so it was very convenient. The place is hard to find from outside so just follow the pictures from other reviews to identify the door from outside. The way they make coffee and tea is a must watch from the bar. I highly recommend stopping by for afternoon tea or coffee.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

Read so much about this place and came here just to have the coffee and cheesecake. Nice quaint place and decor. Interesting cups. Other than that - we really didn’t think it was worth the hype. It wasn’t very busy when we got there around...11am. Maybe just a few locals having their coffee. Waitress was very rude and unfriendly. We didn’t feel welcomed at all. Maybe because there were 9 of us and she didn’t like a crowd ? Cakes were not bad but not the best cheesecake that we have tried. The chiffon cake was nice. Coffee including the slow dripped coffee was nice but we have had better coffee elsewhere. First and last visit for sure. Just not worth the effort just to make a trip here.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

The aroma and flavor coming from the coffee reflects skillfully processed and roasted coffee beans. The dessert was heavenly! I recommend trying their Chiffon Cake (maple flavor) or their baked Cheese cake. For the coffee, go ahead and experience their variety of beans but my...favorite was the Guatemala. Superb ambiance and very nice staff. English menu is available as well.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

One of the best kisaten in Tokyo. In a crazy area, this place is a peaceful oasis. The coffee is excellent, the atmosphere is like a movie. Try to avoid interaction with the youngest guy behind the bar, for some reason he’s curiously rude. The...other baristas are very kind, like everyone in Japan, in my experience ?? Ps: the man in the photo is very kind and knows A LOT.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

This is the perennial coffee space in Tokyo. The vibe is prim and proper with coat hangars and wait staff at the door. The entrance is slightly hidden and once you walk in, it’s a step back into 70s japan with well attired baristas ready...to serve pour over black coffee in its Essence. Each cup is of a different pattern and the extensive menu leaves nothing to the imagination. Must try to get that original historical coffee that Japan is famous for.More

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
There are countless opportunities to shop in the
Shibuya and Harajuku districts, especially in shops
that focus on Japan's "Kawaii" culture. The trendiest
areas are around Shibuya’s Center district, Harajuku's
Takeshita-dori and in Omotesando. If you need to
recharge from all the shopping, you can easily refresh
yourself in Meiji Jingu or Sasaki Park. In contrast,
Ebisu has a more grown up ambiance of calm and cool.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Roppongi
61 reviews
2.85 km away
the b roppongi
2.85 km away
Toyamaken Akasaka Kaikan
20 reviews
2.84 km away
Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongi
145 reviews
2.73 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kokappo Ohashi Shibuya
27 reviews
.05 km away
Nana Shibuya ten
32 reviews
.02 km away
Euro Dining Hush Hush
26 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Nonbee Yokocho
78 reviews
.14 km away
TOKYU THEATRE Orb
78 reviews
.15 km away
Mitake Shrine
31 reviews
.10 km away
Billiard CUE Billiard & Darts
6 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chatei Hato staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing