We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#70 of 1,424 Japanese in Shibuya
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Japanese
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
23
0
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
23
0
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fried chicken salad communal table playful michelin foodie presentation chef courses inventive sake twist dish tokyo seat line
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 27, 2020

It is a difficult place to review in words. If you manage to get a reservation, just go and prepare for a special, memorable and fun night of dining full of joy and warmth in Tokyo.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

After 300 calls I managed to get a table, and boy was it worth it! The Den team is the coolest and they make one feel right at home, but when they get down to business they bring on their a game. The food is...fantastic, presentation awesome. The experience is made even more unique because of there only being one large table for everyone, this makes people chat and have a little more fun exploring the menu. Cannot recommend it enough. Thank you for an epic last meal in Japan to everyone at Den! ??More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful experience! It was worth the effort (called from US ahead of time and made a lunch reservation). We were pleased with the staff’s efforts to be welcoming. The food was unique and we were quite thrilled with the meal. It was unique and worth...the money for our tastes and overallMore

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 8, 2019

This was a superb and creative meal, with impeccable service! A wonderful experience- we would definitely return.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

If you’re a foodie in Tokyo, this is a can’t miss place. The atmosphere was fun and the food is mind blowing. Each dish brought a smile to my face, and quite a few had some surprises to them. Easily one of my favorites, and...at a great price. Quick tip: It was a little hard to find DEN, so make sure you give yourself plenty of time when you leave.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

Wow. Den does amazing Kaiseke. Food is amazing. And beautifully presented. Sake and wine also top notch. And the service is fantastic. Worth the work to get a reservation:-)

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 12, 2019

the location is a bit difficult to find as the door is named after an old restaurant and is closed by 7 p.m. when we arrived. the staff and the chef are very friendly and funloving. the food is nice.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

I was fortunate to receive a call for a cancelled booking the day before flying to Tokyo. Within two days we were eating at Den! If you can get a booking... Take it! Food was outstanding, service was impeccable. 5/5, 10/10... No wonder this place...has so many awards!!!!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 12, 2019

So. I wanted to share my reservation experience with everyone in hopes it helps get YOU a reservation here. Like you I was frustrated by having to call, not being able to book online, and not being able to use my hotel concierge. Den takes...reservations by phone only from 12-5pm Tokyo Time. So I had 4 nights in Tokyo. So I figure I got this. First night: 155 calls all from 12-130 tokyo time. Nothing and phone was very busy. Only every 20 minutes did it ring at all. Second Night. 175 calls. 12-145. Same as before except. I went to bed woke up 3 hours later and called another 10 minutes and got through.(430 Tokyo time) but all booked and wait listed. Third Night: Was busy and could not call till 215 Tokyo Time. It rang many more times than busy signals and I got a table. Lesson on HOW TO GET A TABLE. Dont call right at noon Tokyo time. Wait till about 2pm (or 130pm if you have no patience) I would bet your odds are way better as 1. People have gotten tables. 2. People have given up. Lastly: I was told you can email to ask about the days tables and to be added to the waitlist at 5pm Tokyo time (2 months in advance, the same night you are calling) and that may work. Hope this helps..More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?10  
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Yes, the reservation rules are absurd: by phone only between 12 and 5pm Tokyo time, precisely two months in advance. It seems every foodie on earth calls at precisely the same time, so the line rings busy, or the circuit doesn't work. But after a...few hundred attempts, a voice answers. A real live voice. She's Noriko, and you're immediately put at ease. You think "This is going to be worth all the effort." Then you anxiously count down the days, having second thoughts about whether the frustration of all those international redials will have been worth it. And it is. Our evening at Den was a blast. Inventive, delicious, yet somehow unpretentious food start to finish. Chef Zaiyu cooks with his tongue in cheek (google the expression if you're not an American or Brit), his sense of humor evident in every dish. It's playful, joyful, and surprising food. Chef Zaiyu, Noriko, Joy, Jesus and the team are in it to win it -- we watched them treat every diner to the same terrific experience, yet we often felt like we were the only people in the room, receiving their full attention. I won't critique the food other than to say it's worthy of all the praise, nothing is quite as it appears at first glance, and it will be a meal you'll remember. Den celebrates food and shows diners that high-end dining doesn't have to be serious or stodgy.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
There are countless opportunities to shop in the
Shibuya and Harajuku districts, especially in shops
that focus on Japan's "Kawaii" culture. The trendiest
areas are around Shibuya’s Center district, Harajuku's
Takeshita-dori and in Omotesando. If you need to
recharge from all the shopping, you can easily refresh
yourself in Meiji Jingu or Sasaki Park. In contrast,
Ebisu has a more grown up ambiance of calm and cool.
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
87 reviews
2.08 km away
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo-Akasaka
428 reviews
2.07 km away
APA Hotel Nishi Azabu
166 reviews
2.07 km away
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
667 reviews
2.05 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Florilege
74 reviews
.12 km away
ORGANIC TABLE BY LAPAZ
18 reviews
.11 km away
Aminima
11 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Japan Olympic Museum
19 reviews
.30 km away
The Watarium Museum of Contemporary Art
72 reviews
.28 km away
Aoyama Kumano Shrine
15 reviews
.15 km away
Maction Planet
289 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
borneon4
September 15, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from scorpioshanghai | Reviewed this property |
You need to book a month in advance - its a small restaurant and full everyday. It definitely isn’t a walk in type of restaurant so call them directly.
1
Vote
jessdam18
July 2, 2019|
Answer
Response from cctyu68 | Reviewed this property |
They have a website. Better send them a message and ask. They'll answer back in English. However, be-warned. Booking will be TOUGH!!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing