We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Seating
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
8
1
3
1
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
8
1
3
1
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

Don't heed the bad reviews. This place is incredible to visit. The owner is actually very friendly. Just make sure you line up to order before you sit down. The coffee is incredible and well worth the journey. Cool vibe too.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

The coffee is terrible, one of the worst I've ever had! Also, the shop keeper had an attitude and was not welcoming.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 22, 2019

What are you willing to endure for a famous shot of espresso? Here's one more voice confirming that the way they treat foreigners in this shop is almost comical it's so over-the-top prejudiced. Seriously? Yes, the espresso is good. But if you're a foreigner, make...sure you're emotionally prepared to be mistreated before you go get it. Doesn't matter if you're perfectly well behaved, speak in Japanese, and so forth. It apparently only matters if you're Japanese or not. We had so many other good third wave coffee experiences in Tokyo. Even the Japanese baristas at those shops were hinting that they had some extra thoughts about Bear Pond. And they were beyond nice to foreigners. If you're only gonna go to one or two third wave coffee shops in Tokyo and don't feel this one is a *must* for you, go to the other ones. For those who feel they must try this shop... here's a hug in advance. Godspeed.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

Know what you’re getting into before you go. Get a coffee, drink it and go knowing that you’ve had one of the world’s best coffees in an iconoclastic place. It’s expensive, yes, but made by an obsessive, world class barista.

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 10, 2018

I'm a white foreign girl who speaks some Japanese, and I've visited Japan three times and stayed here over 5 1/2 months total. This was by far the worst experience I've ever had at a shop. This place was recommended to me, so I came...with two of my foreigner friends to try it out. I ordered my drink and paid for it, and after looking at the menu my two friends decided they didn't want to order anything after all. The shop keeper told them that they couldn't sit in the shop if they didn't buy something, so they left for the station because we were splitting up anyway, and I stayed behind to collect my drink. End of story right? WRONG. As soon as my friends headed out, the shop keeper launched into a massive rant about how horrible we are, and how we're rude, terrible foreigners who disrespect Japanese culture, and how dare my friends take up space in his shop for half a second and not buy something! This rant lasted for several minutes (no joke) and every time he seemed to be winding down, he'd start up again with vigor. I tried to say peace making things, like "I'm sorry, we didn't mean any disrespect," but to no avail. Finally, again after several minutes, he turned to the bar and started making my drink. I should have left then, but I had already paid and assumed the worst was over. But I was wrong again! Because as soon as he called me up to collect my drink, he launched into a second wave of abuse! Again, saying we were such disrespectful foreigners, saying he could have called the cops on us for loitering, saying that if we tried this stuff in any other restaurant we would get on the bad side of the yakuza, etc. I was almost in tears but I didn't want to give him the satisfaction. Finally he shut up for a minute, and then another customer came in and he got distracted. I pounded my mediocre Dirty in 3 gulps and booked it out of there. That rant was not about buying or not buying a cup of coffee. That rant was not him being annoyed in the moment. That man despised foreigners, and had been waiting with fevered anticipation to let loose on a foreigner and tell them how they were ruining Japan. Unfortunately, I was selected to be the target of his hateful words. If you are noticeably not ethnically Japanese, please do not go here.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

I ordered a "Dirty" milk with a shot of espresso It was the best dirty I ever had. I even felt guilty towards my favourite barista back in KL. This place is for those who come for the coffee You're not here for the service...or those IG pictures of cute latte art. I entered with the owner's reputation in mind. Was the coffee really worth the hype- bloody yes it was Was the service bad- no but it wasn't the warm Japanese Omotenashi either Is this place worth visiting - yes but keep your expectations for service low but high for the coffeeMore

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

Seriously. Forget the hype and save your money. This guy is stuck in 2009 along with his ideas. This kind of place shouldn't exist in 2017, especially in Japan. ??

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?3  
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Walking into Bear Pond entering an artist's studio. If you don't appreciate the artist's rules, don't come in. If you do, be respectful that you are inside his world. The first espresso of the day there is otherworldly; a froth, a syrup, far past an...espresso; there are reasons it is called "angel stains" and the most relevant are nearing sanctity; made with skill, focus and the gift of having been touched. 48% of the reviews of Bear Pond here are negative with only 1/2 that number positive. Some negativity relates to the coffee, and more tell the story of a rude or eccentric or otherwise unique owning couple. But in this age of commodity and conformity, don't walk into Bear Pond needing the comfort of 2000's conformity. Walk in wise. You are not walking into a coffee shop. You are walking into an artist's studio. Don't waste your time focusing on the rules of where you are allowed to sit and who has to order what and truly, if you're visiting with the angels, focus on the grandeur. If you demand mendacities, stay away.More

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?2  
Reviewed February 5, 2017

I had read on various travel-blogs that this place was awsome with arguably the best coffee in Tokyo before visiting. But I must say, I had the worst experience ever ordering a coffee at this place. Thay had a lot of rules you had to...follow (everybody in the party must order a coffee, you can't take photos and you can't sit on some empty seats even though they are not reserved) and me and my husband felt that the owners wanted nothing more than to see us finish as soon as possible so that they could get rid of us. They were very rude and afterwards we wondered if we had done anything worng that could have made them behave the way they did but after reading the other reviews this seems to be their normal behavior. The coffee was nothing special and tasted very watered down. I would not recommend this place to anyone if you don't want your day and good mood to be ruined.More

Date of visit: June 2016
Helpful?5  
Reviewed January 22, 2017

Like many others, I went to Bear Pond to experience the coffee firsthand, as it has a lot of hype around the place and owner. The cortado was fine, although I did prefer the taste and balance of the one I had at No 8...Bear Pond. The owner was there and made my cortado, so that was pretty exciting for me as a coffee geek. I didn't try to talk to him since I was honestly a little scared after reading the reviews. Also, I went with my boyfriend, who doesn't drink coffee. Bear Pond has a rule where everyone has to buy something if you want to stay inside, so I ordered my drink to go and sat on the bench outside in the cold.More

Date of visit: November 2016
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Business Hotel Crescent
16 reviews
4.08 km away
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nishi Shinjuku
72 reviews
3.89 km away
Easton Hotel
31 reviews
3.87 km away
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
785 reviews
3.83 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
BURGERS TOKYO
18 reviews
.07 km away
Abill
8 reviews
.08 km away
Men to Mirai
11 reviews
.08 km away
Ojaga
18 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Upstairs Records & Bar
.01 km away
Wolfsschutz
1 review
.08 km away
Shimokitazawaera
.09 km away
Shimokitazawa Garage
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bear Pond Espresso staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing