We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
4
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz club enjoy jazz sun road stage seats station yen kichijoji
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 20, 2019

One day, my mother told me, “You like jazz! Let’s go to this restaurant together!”. 3 minutes after existing Kichijoji Station North Exit and entering Sun Road. When you turn left at Yofuku-no-Aoyama, you will see a prominent green signboard against a brown brick background....PIANO HALL “SOMETIME” COFFEE & LIQUOR. A long-established jazz club born in 1975. A shop where you can enjoy high equality jazz, cuisine and liquor at a reasonable price. I went down the dim and thin stairs. There is an atmosphere from the entrance and it is exciting. Open the door and the jazzy world will spread. Dim, brick brown, orange light, black piano, drum set, amp and microphone. We were guided to the seat and ordered a mushroom pizza (1,000 yen). The tuning sound of the band, the voices of the customers who can hear it a little, the smell of delicious food and the smell of cigarettes are pleasant. There are 2nd floor seats and semi-basement seats, so it will be fresh no matter how many times you come. The performance begins. Each day and night is a two-stage system. You can enjoy music with a charge of 1,000 yen at noon and 1,800 yen at night. The jazz that I listened to while eating delicious pizza was great, and I wanted to come here again and again. On the third Thursday of every month, “JAZZ FOR EVERYBODY” is held, where you can enjoy jazz for 500 yen. If you are a beginner, why not try this day?More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed the jazz, a four piece band, and our food was very good quality. We had 3 beers and 2 x glasses white wine. Bill was almost 10000 yen. So the cover charge must have been around 5000 for two.

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

This is a little gem if you are into jazz music. I love the stage ie surround by tables when u really get that old “Smokey” jazz club feel. The night I was there, it was a jazz trio led by Manubu Ohishi. We only...ordered finger food and drinks which was good.More

Date of visit: December 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed May 3, 2016

We enjoy jazz clubs, and this little basement spot was an unexpected pleasure. Groups vary, but the night we were there a jazz trio plus singer performed standards. It's a small place, and the worst seat is not more than 25 feet from the performers....Some seats are only 6 feet away! Service was friendly, and the owner spoke a little English. There is a cover charge, but then food and drinks are reasonable and good. We lived in Tokyo for 8 years and never knew of this place. Now, as we make return visits, I wouldn't miss it. It's a five minute walk from the station down Sun Road, a covered, lively shopping street.More

Date of visit: April 2016
Helpful?
Reviewed December 23, 2015

My friend booked us tickets ahead of time which is the thing to do as the piano bar seats maybe twenty. We enjoyed some beautiful music with a friendly jazz trio playing a few sets for us. The musicians were so open and friendly we...went out all together after for dinner and a few drinks. What a great place and experience!More

Date of visit: November 2015
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nishi Shinjuku
72 reviews
9.94 km away
Fuchu Urban Hotel Annex
28 reviews
9.91 km away
Wakoshi Tobu Hotel
2 reviews
9.74 km away
Daily Inn 254
4 reviews
9.81 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
IPPUDO Kichijoji
41 reviews
.05 km away
Hopukenhonpo
35 reviews
.05 km away
Ichiran Kichijoji
25 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kichijoji
376 reviews
.14 km away
Hamonika Yokocho Kichijoji
115 reviews
.14 km away
Atre Kichijoji
37 reviews
.19 km away
Mu Bus
21 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sometime staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing