We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Save
Share
35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021-1827
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19 and is temporarily closed until 2020-09-29.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Enjoy Exclusive Rates
lovevacations
US$595
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$667
US$558
View Deal
SAVE US$109
Hotels.com
US$600
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21-03-18
Expedia.comUS$600
FindHotelUS$574
Prestigia.comUS$667
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (296)
Room & Suite (173)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-08-31 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Updated 20-08-31 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#144 of 508 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 188 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the MET Breuer and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile."
Read more
Room & Suite (173)173
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Concierge
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Residential Neighbourhood
Hotel links
Special Offer:Enjoy Exclusive Rates

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
90Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
39Attractionswithin 0.5 km
979Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 625
  • 170
  • 85
  • 47
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sherpa44076 wrote a review Jun. 2020
1 contribution
I have stayed at the Carlyle once a year for many years. Few hotels meet the Carlyle's standard for service. My last trip in February was the first time I stayed in a renovated room. Room renovations were long overdue. While the room was nicely decorated and luxurious, the quirkiness and charm of the old Carlyle were gone after entering the room. Moreover, apart from the desk chair the only place to sit in my room was at the edge of the bed. For $800 a night, I should think that they might squeeze in even a small upholstered lounge chair. Bathroom was nicely redone. Same high pressure shower! All said, the Carlyle remains my preferred hotel for its service and location, although in other respects it is now harder to distinguish the Carlyle from other five stars. I wish they took a less corporate approach to room renovations. The "old New York" mural on the wardrobe doesn't cut it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Cooke, Marketing at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sherpa44076, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your review. We are so happy to hear that The Carlyle's service and location keeps you returning year after year. However, we are sorry to hear our new guest rooms did not completely meet your expectations -- we will certainly pass along your feedback and concerns. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back next year and please do not hesitate to reach out directly if we may do anything to make your next visit more comfortable. Jennifer and The Carlyle Family
Read more
Simple22 wrote a review Mar. 2020
Epping, United Kingdom72 contributions15 helpful votes
Located a block away from Central Park this hotels location allowed us to enjoy to different side of NYC From arrival to departure the staff could not have been more welcoming and no request was too much trouble Having not stayed on the Upper East Side before, it gave a chance to see and experience a totally different area of NYC Our room was spacious and had a very homely feel to it The hotel is very upbeat in the bar, then provides a very relaxed feel in the restaurant Decor throughout is very interesting with murals adorning many of the walls in both rooms and other areas Beds are super comfy and the rooms very quiet to outside noise, the presentation of the room is like no other hotel i have ever stayed in, truly first class Looking forward to a return stay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Cooke, Marketing at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Simple22, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking a moment to write this review. We are thrilled you enjoyed The Carlyle and were able to experience a new part of New York City. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Jennifer & The Carlyle Family
Read more
The Gym Lad wrote a review Mar. 2020
St. Catharines, Canada440 contributions66 helpful votes
After having a wonderful stay at Rosewood Georgia Vancouver, we decided to give their sister property a shot. This is a very historic hotel with the perfection location. Very good views as well, at least for my room. Everything was just so perfect there. Rosewood never disappoints
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony M, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Responded Mar. 9, 2020
Dear rockyf991, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our sister properties. It was our pleasure to have you in house and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Wishing you all the best! Kindest Regards, Melissa & The Carlyle Family
Read more
Don P wrote a review Mar. 2020
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States119 contributions26 helpful votes
The Carlyle is finishing and extensive room update. Good news the room decor I’d wonderful! Our room had a partial view across 76th street of Central Park, nice except the room was small even though it was a “deluxe king”. Also changed is there is no longer their fabulous breakfast buffet. The Bemelman bar is still iconic New York.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Cooke, Marketing at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Don P, Thank you so much for sending this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Best regards, Jennifer & The Carlyle Family
Read more
Bill G wrote a review Feb. 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina4 contributions3 helpful votes
This is easily the best hotel in New York. It is easily the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I can stay beats out several #1 US and World