We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-1618
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Save up to 25% off!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
lovevacations
US$226
US$203
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$208
Expedia.comUS$208
TravelocityUS$208
Orbitz.comUS$208
Trip.comUS$226
CheapTicketsUS$208
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (497)
360
Panoramas (10)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-08-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-08-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#157 of 508 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Anchoring SoHo's southwest corner, The James New York – SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at Gitano. Inspired by and imported from its home Tulum in the Yucatan Peninsula, the Gitano Jungle Room inhabits two floors inside the James New York - SoHo. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline.
Read more
Room & Suite (330)330
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Save up to 25% off!
2,057Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,224
  • 462
  • 191
  • 112
  • 68
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fallon R wrote a review Mar. 2020
1 contribution
The staff and location of The James is fantastic! But the room quality has seemed to decline. Our dead bolt was almost busted off the door, the blowdryer was a fire hazard, no bottle opener provided in mini-bar, dry cleaning tag and staples sticking out of comforter....not that any of these were major, but it all starts to add up! The food situation is also dire. The restaurant AND the Jimmy were BOTH closed down. Room service was bodega quality. Hope they can turn this property around to its former glory!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from ReneR1812, General Manager at The James New York SoHo
Responded Mar. 6, 2020
Dear FallonR7 We would like to express to you our deepest gratitude for having stayed with us as well as our appreciation for the time you took to complete your review. It pains us to learn of the inconvenience you endured. Our goal is, and will always be, to provide all of our guest’s with exquisite experiences that set and exceed the bar. Sadly we were not able to with you and for that we apologize. Rest assured, we do not take your dissatisfaction lightly. We communicated all of your concerns to the team and we are implementing solutions to prevent them from happening in the future. With our current renovation we hope to correct a lot of the issues you faced. We know we are capable of better and we take each day as an opportunity to do better, so that we may reach and exceed our goal of delivering the best experiences possible. Best regards, Rene Roman General Manager gmjamesnewyork@jamessoho.com
Read more
Norwegian couple wrote a review Mar. 2020
1 contribution
We spent a weekend at The James. Short walking distance to the best stores and restaurants, and not far from Brooklyn Bridge and One World Trade Center. Very service minded staff - Manny & co. Great weekend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from ReneR1812, General Manager at The James New York SoHo
Responded Mar. 6, 2020
Hello TeamOslo We are so excited to hear you had such a great stay at the James New York Soho. Its music to our ears to learn that our staff had such a positive impact on on your Trip! We look forward to hosting you many more times in the future!!! Best regards, Rene Roman General Manager gmjamesnewyork@jamessoho.com
Read more
Vincenzo M wrote a review Feb. 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Found the staff non caring , the reception desk was not informative of the $40 per day charge The rooms were poorly cleaned , the staff at the front doors (valet ) did not even offer to put our luggage’s in the car,just barely opened the door . Will not stay again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ReneR1812, General Manager at The James New York SoHo
Responded Feb. 29, 2020
Hello Vincenzo I truly apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. Rest assured, we do not take your dissatisfaction lightly. We communicated all of your concerns to the team and we are implementing solutions to prevent them from happening in the future. We know we are capable of better and we take each day as an opportunity to do better, so that we may reach and exceed our goal of delivering the best experiences possible. Best regards, Rene Roman General Manager gmjamesnewyork@jamessoho.com
Read more
goon611 wrote a review Feb. 2020
New York City, New York1 contribution
We stayed I winter time but lot of the hotel amenities were closed and the hotel still charged us the full facility fee. If I had stayed in the summer time I would have more than happy to pay the fee.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: The lights were flickering in our room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ReneR1812, General Manager at The James New York SoHo
Responded Feb. 29, 2020
Hello Goon611 I truly apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect, and we thank you for choosing the James New York Soho. We hope to have our Bar and restaurant back soon and better then ever! Best regards, Rene Roman General Manager gmjamesnewyork@jamessoho.com
Read more
Kat T wrote a review Feb. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great location, but the guest rooms are aging badly. Unpatched holes in the walls, non-functional drawers in nightstand, limescale all over the shower, etc. The walls are also thin and you can hear everything in the hallways but that’s pretty normal in nyc.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ReneR1812, General Manager at The James New York SoHo
Responded Feb. 20, 2020
Hello Kat T, Thank your for your review, It pains us to learn of the inconvenience you endured. Our goal is, and will always be, to provide all of our guest’s with exquisite experiences that set and exceed the bar. Sadly we were not able to with you and for that we apologize. Best regards, Rene Roman General Manager gmjamesnewyork@jamessoho.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$240 - US$550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the james new york hotel new york city
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityDowntown Manhattan (Downtown) / Manhattan / SoHo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The James New York SoHo
Which popular attractions are close to The James New York SoHo?
Nearby attractions include Lower Manhattan (0.5 km), New York City Fire Museum (0.4 km), and GhostBusters Firestation (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The James New York SoHo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The James New York SoHo?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The James New York SoHo?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The James New York SoHo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piccola Cucina Osteria, Piccola Cucina, and Piccola Cucina Estiatorio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The James New York SoHo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The James New York SoHo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The James New York SoHo?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The James New York SoHo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (1.4 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (1.4 km), and Hamilton Park (5.3 km).
Does The James New York SoHo have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
亚洲欧美日韩精品专区,爱啪国产精品视频在线,亚洲国产精品免费线观看视频