We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Freehand New York

Save
Share
23 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10010-3790
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$134
View Deal
Official Site
US$134
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21-03-05
Hurb
US$134
US$96
View Deal
SAVE US$38
Free cancellation until 21-03-03
Agoda.comUS$134
PricelineUS$134
FindHotelUS$124
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (368)
Room & Suite (131)
Dining (67)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-08-21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Freehand New York
Updated 20-08-21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#311 of 508 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The latest Freehand has recently opened in NYC’s Flatiron neighborhood. It will take over the former George Washington Hotel, which has a history as a home for creatives. That legacy will live on in The Freehand Fellowship: the hotel is launching a program in partnership with Live Arts Bard of Bard College, where selected artists will get the chance to live and work at the property and play an active part in its arts and cultural program. As with all Freehands, food and beverage is of the utmost importance. The restaurant and lobby bar here will be headed by West Village restaurateur Gabriel Stulman’s Happy Cooking Hospitality. Freehand New York will also get an outpost of Noho café, The Smile, and of course, a Broken Shaker bar.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Table tennis
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
487Reviews47Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 163
  • 64
  • 31
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
waqarmushtaq84 wrote a review Sep. 8
Waltham, Massachusetts1 contribution
Overall it was a good stay. The room service is not available due to Covid-19 situation which created problems for us as we could not heat up the food also we couldn’t boil the baby’s Milk. No microwave or access to kitchen, we had to find a restaurant to do this for us at additional charges
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Tommy S wrote a review Sep. 4
3 contributions
Stayed here for a night celebrating my birthday and our upcoming Anniversary, room was small but very clean, check in was easy & swift, parking was 1 Avenue away so not bad considering you are in the middle of NYC, location (neighborhood) is listed as flatiron but I think it is closer to Gramercy, there are plenty of restaurants / bars walking distance which are all outdoor dining only at the time of our stay. The broken shaker rooftop bar is also a nice addition to have right upstairs, they make awesome drinks. the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions or concerns we had. Would definitely stay here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
850connie wrote a review Sep. 4
Cedar Rapids, Iowa1 contribution
We enjoyed our stay at the Freehand – and we'd like to come back when some of the restaurants and bars are open. Bad timing with the pandemic. The location is awesome, we love the Flatiron District. So many things to do within walking distance. We'll be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
jessiekanegill wrote a review Sep. 2
1 contribution
The woman at the desk was so wonderful and nice and accommodating! Unfortunately, the room was musty and there was a giant gaping hole in the ceiling..... horrible.......that was a hot mess. Disappointing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
kel72020 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Schenectady, New York1 contribution
Good place but tiny rooms especially for a 4-bedded one. The ceiling is low for bunk beds, have to be extra careful not to not hit your head, and there’s barely enough space to move around. It’s very clean though and has friendly staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityGramercy-Flatiron / Rose Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
395
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Freehand New York
Which popular attractions are close to Freehand New York?
Nearby attractions include ZTrend (0.2 km), Modern Pinball NYC Arcade, Party Place and Museum (0.3 km), and Jazz Standard (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Freehand New York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Freehand New York?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Freehand New York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Freehand New York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boucherie Union Square, Bagels & Schmear, and Gramercy Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Freehand New York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Freehand New York?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Freehand New York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (4.0 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (3.9 km), and Hamilton Park (4.3 km).
Is Freehand New York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.