We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
travelup.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (729)
360
Panoramas (8)
Videos (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Peninsula New York
Updated 20-04-27

About

#97 of 508 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This 1905 landmark building is ideally located in midtown, just steps from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. Each of the 181 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. The award-winning Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city and includes a glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting-edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes. The signature restaurant Clement and adjoining bar offer notable American fare, hand-crafted cocktails, extensive wine menu and seasonal events. The elegant Gotham Lounge is the perfect spot to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, while the rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, offers panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline.
Read more
Room & Suite (382)382
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Business
1,381Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 932
  • 276
  • 114
  • 35
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kate M wrote a review Sep. 26
Wigan, United Kingdom20 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights in February definitely one of the best hotels in New York. Stayed in lots of 5 star hotels in New York and this is definitely my favourite. The rooms are a good size, clean and the finishing touches are lovely. The staff were really helpful and the location was fantastic for being everywhere in an easy walk. Definitely will return
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
S F wrote a review Apr. 2020
Vancouver, Canada110 contributions32 helpful votes
There is something about getting the news that legendary hotels like The Peninsula in NYC or the Savoy in London have closed their doors, which some how brings home the fact that we are living in unfathomable time even more so than the closing of hotels, bars & restaurants one may frequent far more often in one’s neighborhood. It is difficult to think how it is that so many places are closed around one, but even if The Peninsula & the Savoy were not one’s regular haunts, they have a symbolic place in our minds & hearts. Figures, both political & cultural, played out some of their lives at such hotels, with some there when world-altering events occurred. Rudy Giuliani was to hear about the events of 9/11 while at The Peninsula a good few of us are still familiar with lines of soccer star superstar, George Best, delivered while living at The Savoy. I have visited both a good few times & was lucky enough to be treated to a weekend end at The lPeninsula, when traveling through NYC on a trip from Oxford to Vancouver both ways in September 2002, a year .of commemoration after 9/11. Everything about The Peninsula ie truly wonderful. The location on 5th Ave at 55th signals its singularity. Right in the center of midtown NYC, it is in a prime position for important venues like The Roosevelt Centre & it is also well located for fine dining & good shopping. The bar & lounge is terrific with good service & food & drinks, as is the roof top bar & patio dining . In fact , there was great service right across the hotel & both my nights at 5/55 were just wonderful. With all which was wonder that weekend, swimming in its roof top pool looking over 5th Ave & 55th street, topped it all I love swimming & have swam almost anywhere at a drop of a hat. Swimming high above NYC in the Peninsula’s pool is one of my favorite swimming experiences in my swimming life, which has stretched out over some 50 years, five continents & 58 counties. It is up there in my in my top five pools around the world. The Peninsula also has a very enlightened “pet” policy, allowing pets to stay with their owners, Our Buddhist dog, Riley P Fuller, was an enthusiastic traveller & bon vivant. The Peninsula was just Riley’s kind off place, as is NYC. In fact, a stay at The Peninsula was on his bucket list. If he were here now, he would’ eagerly be awaiting The Peninsula’s reopening. Posted by S Fuller
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York
Responded Apr. 16, 2020
Dear 690sf, It is a delight to read your review and experience at The Peninsula New York. We made the difficult decision to close the hotel a few weeks ago. With our world changing so dramatically these past weeks and now that we are faced with global uncertainty, I would like to take this moment to send you our gratitude and our wishes that you and your loved ones remain safe. I appreciate the time afforded to review your past visit in 2002. Again, please accept our warmest wishes for your family as we all look forward to welcoming you back to New York City and your home at The Peninsula. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
Read more
Doctorchef wrote a review Apr. 2020
Milan, Italy122 contributions57 helpful votes
This is our second time in the hotel, the first was a dream and this one was simply over our expectations. We had a long stay. All the team is great and you immediately have the feeling to be at home. I appreciated the excellence of the breakfast in terms of food but even more the service. In all the departments , from the SPA cleaner to the managers I felt an incredible sense of appartenence for the hotel. Many of them works there since the opening and someone even more, when the hotel had another name. i really appreciated the welcoming of Caroline, the director of the front desk. Thank you Samir, we remember forever your smile and your enthusiasm and we will do a big advertising of the Peninsula NY to all our contacts!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York
Responded Apr. 16, 2020
Dear fsdandy, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of your experience at The Peninsula New York on TripAdvisor. While we are proud of the superior service we provide, it is the relationships that we establish that we value the most especially during these challenging times. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again when we re-open in late Spring. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
Read more
The Gym Lad wrote a review Apr. 2020
St. Catharines, Canada440 contributions66 helpful votes
Hotel location is well located. It’s close to Central Park and Rockefeller, and Times Square is 15 minutes away. Service is impeccable. The breakfast is not bad. Rooms are somewhat spacious. This Peninsula is no match for the peninsula of Hong Kong and Shanghai, but it’s still luxurious. If price is a main factor of your stay, it is not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York
Responded Apr. 16, 2020
Dear thegymlad, Thank you so much for staying at The Peninsula New York We are grateful for your feedback, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
Read more
ALondonworkingmom wrote a review Mar. 2020
London, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
I come around 2-3 times a year to NY for work and I love staying at the Peninsula hotel, it is beautiful and super clean and the pool is dreamy, but I noticed that this time every staff member I interacted with was extremely helpful. From getting my favourite room and being offered a late check out until 2pm on arrival. To staff in the gym cleaning the equipment constantly, the hand sanitiser everywhere including the tiny ones in the room, etc It has been another very pleasant stay and as I said under the current circumstances with the Coronavirus the staff has been super nice, accommodating and just very charming. Thank you to all of them
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York
Responded Mar. 17, 2020
Dear pilarrocafort, These are uncertain times with the outbreak of COVID-19 however your support and loyalty is greatly appreciated. Thank you for continuing to be our guests. While we continue to provide exceptional and personalized service, it is more important that we reassure you that our hotel guests’ and our staff’s wellness and safety remain our utmost priority. Thank you for providing this review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to your next visit this year. Kind regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$658 - US$1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the peninsula new york hotel new york city, peninsula new york city, new york city peninsula, peninsula hotel new york
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityMidtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
235
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Peninsula New York
Which popular attractions are close to The Peninsula New York?
Nearby attractions include St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.3 km), Top of the Rock (0.4 km), and Rockefeller Center (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Peninsula New York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at The Peninsula New York?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Peninsula New York?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Peninsula New York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loi Estiatorio, The Modern, and Ora Di Pasta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Peninsula New York?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Peninsula New York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Peninsula New York?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Peninsula New York offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Peninsula New York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (6.4 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (6.4 km), and Hamilton Park (3.7 km).
Is The Peninsula New York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.