We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge

Save
Share
527 Friendly Beaches Rd Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215 Australia
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (42)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Updated 20-05-31

About

#1 of 6 Speciality lodging in Freycinet
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This is the original and award-winning Freycinet Experience Walk – a four-day guided adventure covering the entire length of the Freycinet Peninsula on Tasmania’s sublimely beautiful East Coast, including the iconic Wineglass Bay. Walk beaches of powder white sand. Hike spectacular pink granite mountains carrying only a small day-pack. Explore the region by boat, go fishing, snorkeling, and travel to uninhabited Schouten Island. Discover forests of towering white gums where you and your walking companions, a maximum of 10, feel like the only souls on Earth. Then return each evening to the award-winning Friendly Beaches Lodge, nestled in its own secluded sanctuary, where delicious, candle-lit meals, steaming hot showers, deep baths,? and comfortable beds await. This is an all inclusive tour: return transfers from Hobart, three nights accommodation at Friendly Beaches Lodge, exclusive to your walking group, superb, locally sourced, meals made lovingly by our lodge hosts and award-winning Tasmanian wines and spirits.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Breakfast available
Boating
Diving
Free airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Snorkelling
Fishing
Walking tours
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English
99Reviews0Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Steve R wrote a review Mar. 2020
Long Beach, Australia131 contributions31 helpful votes
This was a perfect 4 days. Great hiking, great food, great wine, a wonderful eco-lodge, with limited numbers and awesome support. Plus some surprises that I won't spoil by putting them here. I have done some much more ambitious treks (Kilimanjara, Nepal etc) but I can't imagine a better hiking experience that will suit all comers, and enable friends of all ability to have a wonderful shared experience. Kudos to all involved (especially Luke and Sam the hosts, and Jess, Danny and Emily the guides)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Responded Mar. 10, 2020
Hello, X6406VPstever! Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our four-day walking experience. It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and were so well looked after by our brilliant team! Your group would be most welcome back to join us on the Peninsula, perhaps during a different season! It is such a treat to observe how the landscape changes from spring, to summer, through to autumn (you might also be interested to hear more about our Lodge Based bookings available for return guests who might fancy a little more down time at our beach side eco-lodge!). We wish you all the very best for your future travels and hope to see you on the Peninsula again! Warmest, The Freycinet Experience Team
Read more
SWKA wrote a review Jun. 2019
Sydney, Australia131 contributions105 helpful votes
We went on the Freycinet Experience Walk immediately after having completed the Bay of Fires Lodge Walk (see our separate review). These two walks were similar in many ways, even the lodges were designed by the same architect. However, as much as they were similar, they were also different. The Freycinet Experience Walk does not have the same remote and windswept feel of the Bay of Fires, in fact, there was a small cruise liner anchored in Wine Glass Bay. However, while there are more people around in the Freycinet National Park, the walk itself had a more intimate and personal feel to it. On the first day a short boat trip to Schouten Island – with detours to admire the marine birds – was a great way to relax. While my wife and I opted to go fishing for flathead in the afternoon, the rest of the group opted to climb Bear Hill. The boat captain knows the best fishing spots and we took over 30 flathead – these were served for dinner that evening. The next two days involved about 7 hours of walking each day (about 14 km a day). The walks, most of which were off the beaten track, were fantastic with a combination of beach, inland and cliff top treks. The landscapes and wildlife (mainly birds) make all the effort worthwhile. The walks were at a reasonable pace but included frequent refreshments stops – as well as opportunities to go swimming in in the fantastic surf. On the third day we were unable to use the boat to access Bluestone Bay due to rough seas and walked from the main national park carpark – the alternative walks were excellent and secluded once we made some progress away from the car park. While Wine Glass Bay was fairly busy when we arrived, everyone seemed to disappear at lunch time leaving the bay to us. The highlight of the walk are the fantastic guides and Beach Lodge. Our guides were enthusiastic and knowledgeable - especially Isaac, who is the grandson of the founder of the walk and lodge, and gave insights into the history and philosophy of the walk and the lodge. Nothing was too much trouble for Amy and Isaac, and the team at the Lodge. The lodge is designed to sleep about 10 guests and has enough rooms to cater for some singles (at no extra cost). The sleeping area is split into two smaller lodges with a sitting room with fireplace and shared bathroom facilities (including a bath) in each. The main central lodge includes a large sitting room, library, decks and dining area. The food is excellent and includes ample wine and beer. The design and feel of the lodge are fantastic providing an intimate atmosphere but also privacy if desired. The lodge is hidden from the beach and is nestled among trees at the top of the hill above the beach. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Responded Nov. 21, 2019
Dear SWAK, Thank you kindly for your review, it is wonderful to hear that you felt the intimate and homely atmosphere that our team endeavour to create. We are so lucky to have such a secluded and peaceful space to come home to, and to share! As a family owned operation, we are delighted to hear that Isaac was able to share our story with you personally. Should you wish to share the experience with others, returning guests are always most welcome, either on our signature four-day walking trips, or, on our lodge-based or personalised experiences (you might find our shoulder seasons to your liking, with fewer visitors to the Peninsula). Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you would like to hear more. Until then, best wishes, and happy traveling. Warm regards, Zoe (on behalf of the Freycinet Experience Team).
Read more
Jeremy J wrote a review May 2019
Killara, Australia49 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
I reluctantly divulge this piece of paradise to TripAdvisor readers. Firstly the name is so apt- the guides and team are genuinely in love with what they do. Authenticity is in everything they do. Secondly the experience is tailored for those who want to work up a sweat ( Thanks Dan for jogging 10km at 6am) , climbing a mountain or a leisurely 14 km beach walk. The team structure each day so smartly. Where else can the guide dive into the sea and pull out a massive abelone for dinner? And the respect for the wilderness was to leave the other few dozen in the sea. Friendly beach is about 8kms and I saw absolutely no one else on it through my binoculars. Wineglass Bay reminds me of the best lakes in Europe except it’s a bay in the sea. The place is heaven- miles of empty beaches, translucent seas, and what great hosts! They ( Dan and Gemma) can really cook- the food was exquisite. I’ve traveled around the world and the best place seems to be on my own doorstep. Just do it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Responded Nov. 21, 2019
Dear 217jeremyj, Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted to hear that you loved our team as much as we do. We are so lucky to work with such genuine and passionate lovers of the coast and mountains that our Peninsula offer. Should you wish to share the experience with others, returning guests are always most welcome, either on our signature four-day walking trips, or, on our lodge-based or personalised experiences. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you would like to hear more. Until then, best wishes, and happy traveling. Warm regards, Zoe (on behalf of the Freycinet Experience Team).
Read more
Emma wrote a review Apr. 2019
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Words and photos aren't enough to describe how insanely beautiful and momentous this experience was. I climbed mountains, saw astounding sunsets, learnt history about the history of the land and tasted some incredible food and wine. The architecturally designed accommodation offered everything we needed for four days and fits seamlessly into the surrounding landscape and coastal woodland. The walks were the perfect balance of a physical challenge to be conquered and awe-inspiring views. Our guides, Holly, Danny and Dan were considerate, supportive, so easy to connect with and always willing to go the extra mile to enhance our experience. Dan and Gemma prepared us some incredible meals (and good wine) made with local produce to enjoy out on the trail and back at the lodge after a long day exploring. We were never hungry. Our skipper, Noah (yes, his actual name) and our bus river, Lauren also shared their knowledge and passion for Freycinet. I can't give enough praise to the incredible crew who took such good care of our group. You feel their love for their work and their experience and understanding of what makes Freycinet magical. Intimate, reflective, moving and de-toxing, choose Freycinet Experience Walk and you'll have four days you'll remember for the rest of your life - hot tip: turn off the phone, be sparing with the camera, just take in the moment and breathe the fresh air
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: N/a - all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Responded Nov. 21, 2019
Dear emjboard, Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted to hear that our team took good care of you! We are so lucky to work with such genuine and passionate lovers of the coast and mountains that our Peninsula offer, and the local produce that is available to us! Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you would like any details about the food or wines we shared. Should you wish to share our experience with others, returning guests are always most welcome, either on our signature four-day walking trips, or, on our lodge-based or personalised experiences. Wishing you a safe and happy 2019, and we hope to see you again (we have so many beautiful wildflowers blooming at the moment!). Warm regards, Zoe (on behalf of the Freycinet Experience Team).
Read more
Craig P wrote a review Mar. 2019
Greater Sydney, Australia8 contributions5 helpful votes
Would I go back and do it all again? Absolutely. The lodge, the food, the staff, the fellow guests, the Freycinet. Excellent value. There is plenty to do, but at an easy pace and with options to suit all.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Responded Mar. 27, 2019
Hi Craig, Thank you. We'd love to have you back again. The seasons offer a different experience of a place we always find renewing. Travel well! Best wishes, Daniel?
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGlamorgan-Spring BayFreycinet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Friendly Beaches (7.9 km) and Freycinet Paintball & Campground (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include airport transportation, breakfast buffet, and free airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
Does Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
亚洲欧美日韩精品专区,爱啪国产精品视频在线,亚洲国产精品免费线观看视频