We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilpena Pound Resort

Save
Share
Wilpena Road Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434 Australia
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!20% OFF for 3 Night Stay
US$126
View Deal
Free cancellation until 20-10-29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$125
Agoda.comUS$126
Expedia.comUS$126
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (414)
Room & Suite (68)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-07-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Wilpena Pound Resort
Updated 20-07-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Wilpena Pound Resort is the only accommodation in Ikara Flinders Ranges National Park. All rooms are non-smoking. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples while the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger and suitable for families or people needing extra space. Some rooms offer cooking facilities. All rooms are en-suite, have TV, mini fridge, air-conditioning, tea/coffee tray. On site restaurant serving hot meals, bar and bistro. Resort also offers Ikara Safari tents for a great glamping experience as well as powered and unpowered sites for camping. An on site store sells supplies and a visitors center to advise on information about the area and guided walking as well as 4WD tours. Air Wilpena at our private air strip, takes you on air safaris around Flinders ranges and Lake Eyre.
Read more
Room & Suite (68)68
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Car park
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Walking tours
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Gift shop
Picnic area
Shops
ATM on site
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:20% OFF for 3 Night Stay
790Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 281
  • 188
  • 81
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CTMCtrip wrote a review Sep. 2020
Glenelg, Australia105 contributions21 helpful votes
Unusual title but if you want to visit the Flinders Ranges and particularly Wilpena Pound this is THE place to stay, for all its shortcomings. Bear in mind the place is still in semi-Covid lockdown as far as our comments. We booked 2 rooms in the Ediowie Wing. Rooms were clean; beds were comfortable, but neither fridge worked properly , nor one hotplate. Glass, plates, cutlery and cooking ware were not clean and in some cases very dirty. And the resort as a whole is looking 'tired'; the rooms similarly. The restaurant was closed (due Covid), so no meals. However the IGA store has an astounding range of food, drink and accessories at surprisingly reasonable prices. The campgrounds, both powered and unpowered have well spaced sites. It is not cheap; it is perhaps below-standard for the price, but it is in an isolated part of Australia (which is a huge part of its appeal) so maintenance and everything else has to be trucked in. GO !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
allaboutstatus wrote a review Sep. 2020
Adelaide, Australia51 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Reading reviews for this place, I was slightly wary of what type of experience this would be. First time in the Flinders I wasn't sure of anything. I can see pretty early in this review, that this place and the experience has exceeded my expectations. The Ikara Safari tents are such a unique experience. We stayed in Tent 3, and were blessed with the most tranquil views of Mount Olhssen and surround ranges. The tents are reasonably seperated so you don't feel like others are around you. The one time we had some noisy neighbours who decided to invite others over. A quick phone call to the caretaker and she was here within less than 20 minutes to tell them to keep it down. The Tents are clean and tidy and well maintained. I was confused to read the "resort is tired and rundown" I didnt feel this at all. I can say without a doubt the Tent's bed was the comfiest of beds I have ever slept in. Air conditioning warmed or cooled the tent easy. A word of warning to those who expect the tents to be fully catered to all your needs...this isnt the case. BYO own utensils, cooking equipment and other supplies as you would for normal camping. A little research saved us disappointment. Which we weren't at all. The IGA on site is well stocked and good prices. In case you do forget anything. This is one place I will definitely be returning. Reluctant to leave!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Kyan M wrote a review Sep. 2020
Adelaide, Australia29 contributions7 helpful votes
For such an amazing location, the Wilpena pound resort is such a let down. The food at the restaurant is very average at best, but unfortunately this is the only option besides getting a snack at the IGA or cooking something in your room. This is extremely difficult due to there being one old & decrepit frypan, 2 saucepans & very few utensils. It was also frustrating to come back from a long hike to find the air-conditioner not working in the room. For close to $300 per night, this is pretty dismal. The highlight was the absolutely stunning trails, but there are very few references around the place to the history of the area, which I thought was disappointing. It is such a shame that one of the most beautiful South Australian attractions is massively let down by the accomodation. My suggestion for anyone going here would be come prepared with your own food, or keep your expectations low if you plan to eat at the restaurant. Hopefully the management of this 'resort' pick their game up so tourist can have an experience that matches the beauty of the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wayne M wrote a review Sep. 2020
Greater Adelaide, Australia8 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location but stay elsewhere. "Resort" should be removed from the name of this place - it's more an old run down motel. Needs a good makeover. Some staff were friendly - manager, front counter - the rest seem put out by you being there and don't even say hello. The rooms - we stayed in a family room which was very dirty and run down. Watch your feet or you'll trip over the carpet all raised up in ridges. Taps leak. Smoke detector hanging from ceiling. cochroach crawled out from quilt cover when in bed! Only saucepan had broken handle. Squashed mozzie on bathroom wall with blood splattered. Broken mount in bathroom where maybe a hairdryer once was. All bathroom hooks, towel rails loose. Lights not working. Fan in bathroom not working. They came and "fixed" a couple of things and gave the room a deep clean but we couldn't notice! They just don't clean or maintain the rooms. The food in the restaurant should be avoided. I won't even start on that... but bring your own food rather than eat their meals. Other people in rooms around us were all complaining about their rooms and the food too - eg fridge not working - "you don't need it!" We left early from our trip! Very disappointed that one of SA's major tourist attractions has been left in that state. Another 5 years I'd guess it might just be abandoned unless someone can takeover and try to restore it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring a tent!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lizteag wrote a review Sep. 2020
224 contributions102 helpful votes
To be honest reading some reviews we were tempted to stay at Rawnsley Park but we ended up booking here and I am so pleased we did. We stayed in a Heyson room and it was great! Once we realised that the restaurant wasn’t open Monday and Tuesday (2 of our 3 nights) I would have preferred the room with a kitchenette but they were fully booked. It ended up not being a problem anyway the IGA on-site is really quite large and we managed to sort dinner each night easily, The room was very roomy, clean and had a lovely outlook to the trees, the only thing I would ask to change is the ability to open more windows, maybe a lockable screen on the door. It seems a shame to be surrounded by such beauty and not be able to open all the windows to enjoy the air. Propping the door open results in visits from flies. The one night we did eat in the restaurant the food was good, it’s quite a nice setup, it’s a shame it’s not open each night. The location is great, you walk out of your room and head straight off on a hike The information/cultural centre is also onsite which makes it easy to book and go on tours. We went on a guided cultural walk - Sacred Canyon with Mick.. he is great!!! He was so informative and his attitude of let’s fight a war of love was a highlight of our entire trip. We will come back to Wilpena Pound, the area is stunning and the gorges to drive through breathtaking. There are also more tours we wish to do from the cultural centre. We will definitely stay here, the rooms are comfortable and the location is unbeatable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: They Heyson is a great room choice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wilpena pound hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaFlinders RangesFlinders Ranges National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wilpena Pound Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Wilpena Pound Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wilpena Pound (2.1 km) and Sacred Canyon (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wilpena Pound Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Wilpena Pound Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Wilpena Pound Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wilpena Pound Resort?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wilpena Pound Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Wilpena Pound Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Wilpena Pound Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arkaroo Rock (9.6 km).
Does Wilpena Pound Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Wilpena Pound Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
亚洲欧美日韩精品专区,爱啪国产精品视频在线,亚洲国产精品免费线观看视频