We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters

Save
Share
9 Florey Bvd, Birtinya, Queensland 4575 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Snaptravel
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$92
View Deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (26)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 20-07-09 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Updated 20-07-09 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Mercure Sunshine Coast (Lake Kawana Hotel) is a 4.5 star hotel offering both corporate and leisure guests a high quality accommodation experience with a number of room options The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Sunshine Coast medical and sports precincts. The new Sunshine Coast University Hospitals are just 80-100 meters away. The Sunshine Coast Stadium is just a few minutes' drive away. The hotel features also include a restaurant and bar onsite that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, along with room service, a 24-hour front desk and complimentary parking. All rooms include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, Foxtel, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Conference facilities include high quality conference and event options. State-of-the-art audio-visual equipment. Whether your visit to the Sunshine Coast is for business or pleasure, the Lake Kawana Hotel offers the perfect venue, location, comfort & service to ensure a memorable stay.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Czech, Finnish and 8 more
362Reviews1Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 106
  • 30
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MichaelfromNewmarket wrote a review Sep. 3
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
Best Mercure stay I’ve experienced to date. Very friendly accommodating staff, enjoyed excellent food for both dinner and breakfast. We received every AccorPlus perk available during this stay. Highly recommend this Hotel. Keep it up.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from John Orning, General Manager at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks Michael for your kind review and for staying with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality both for accommodation and the restaurant. Welcome back //John
Read more
tmaston wrote a review Aug. 2020
1 contribution
Checkin was easy and simple. Room was standard average hotel room. Bathroom is small, if you have long legs don’t expect to be able to sit on the toilet straight without feeling cramped up. Or banging your head on the shower glass. The fridge didn’t work. Found this out at 10pm at night after being out all afternoon and wanting to refill and cool our water for the next day. No one wants to be disturbed at that time of night by a maintenance person, so no cold anything from the fridge. Reported it on checkout and thought that it would be a housekeeping that would check to ensure all things work in the room. Not very impressed for the money you pay for 1 night. Beds were comfy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from John Orning, General Manager at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank You tmaston74, for reviewing us and for your stay. I'm sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. he fridge should of course work and I will make sure its fixed/replaced. I'm very sorry for the inconvenience. All the best //John
Read more
Leonie O wrote a review Aug. 2020
Paradise Point, Australia10 contributions5 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, with very good rooms. The restaurant was a great find with beautiful food and good choices. Highly recommend a stay at this hotel. Convenient location to all sunshine coast sights and close to other food outlets.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from John Orning, General Manager at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks You Leonie, for your kind review and for staying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. Welcome back! //John Orning
Read more
Mary wrote a review Aug. 2020
2 contributions
I’m disappointed to say we had a bad experience here despite staying in numerous other Mercures and having good experiences there i.e. Canberra. The shower was dirty and there was hair all over the walls which was gross. And one of the staff was rude and very unhelpful (Young girls with glasses, I know her name but won’t reveal it online) and in fact at check in when I asked if there was a pool made a comment that this wasn’t the best hotel which I thought was odd for someone at front desk. I asked her for shower gels and she acted like a deer in headlights and didn’t even ask the cleaning staff and tried to get rid of me and when I was firm investigated and said this hotel doesn’t have shower gel only soap bars, which I thought was so odd for a decent hotel! The cleanliness of the rooms wasn’t great either. We were disappointed and had such high expectations!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John ?rning, General Manager at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Responded Aug. 11, 2020
Dear Mary, I'm very sorry to hear that we didn't love up to your expectations. What you describe isn't our normal standard and I'm again very sorry that you got this experience. I will make sure to take the feedback with the team so we can be better in the future.
Read more
Elana Z wrote a review Aug. 2020
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions
We booked three rooms as there was eight of us, we were celebrating a friend's 50th birthday. The family room was big enough for all of us to enjoy the cake and the drinks together. When the younger ones were ready to retire, they went to their comfortable room. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant downstairs.The wait staff were great and Raj at the front counter was very helpful at check-in and checkout time.Our experience was wonderful and would definitely book to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from John ?rning, General Manager at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Responded Aug. 11, 2020
Dear Elana, Than You for your kind works and for taking the time to review us. We are really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to seeing you back another time. Kind Regards //John Orning
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lake Kawana Hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastBirtinya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters?
Nearby attractions include Venue 114 (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters?
Conveniently located restaurants include Club Kawana, Wildflower Restaurant and Bar, and NahaThai's Street Food.
Does Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Birtinya.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, and Czech.