We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

R on the Downs Rural Retreat

Save
Share
295 Swanfels Rd, Yangan, Queensland 4371 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Luxury Eco-friendly R on the Downs Rural Retreat, (BnB, spa Cottages) in picturesque Swanfels Valley, Yangan. Escape the crowds- Ideal base- romance, refresh, nature, waterfalls, history, shopping, events - Warwick, Stanthorpe, Killarney, Allora. 2 hrs Brisbane; 1 hr Toowoomba. Four luxury rooms (2 with two person spas) within the 2 storey sandstone homestead plus 2 self-contained spa cottages, (all with breath-taking views). Perfect to relax, rejuvenate and re-ignite that something special. Scrumptious meals (dietary needs addressed), afternoon teas, award winning facilities - weddings, celebrations -single, couples, groups. Book per phone, web-site, email.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Tennis court
Spa
BBQ facilities
Parking
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Seating area
Separate dining area
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Separate living room
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
295 Swanfels Rd, Yangan, Queensland 4371 Australia
Getting there
Brisbane Intl Airport123 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
50Reviews1Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kevin J wrote a review Aug. 2020
Brisbane, Australia30 contributions16 helpful votes
Yesteryear in apparence but modern in practicality. If you want to experience the seanic rim or a little bit of country on the door-step of big city lifestyle, come to R on the Downs, about 15 mins from Warwick. Only 10 years old but with the look and feel of the late 19th century, R on the Downs is made up of the main household and two separate stand-alone residences, complete with all the mod cons. The main house is made up of 4 individual rooms on the top floor, with their own on-suites. We stayed in the "Workers Cottage", overlooking the surrounding valley properties. Beautifully put together to look like the olden days, but with its own kitchen, spa bath, lounge, fire-place, verandah and very generous bathroom. The owners, Doug and Liz were most welcoming, even providing some scones upon arrival. Not cheap but well worth the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get over the dripping taps. It is because of the bore water. Drinking it is not an issue.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Theresa G wrote a review Oct. 2019
9 contributions
+1
My husband and I stayed in the treehouse villa - R on the Downs. An absolutely delightful escape. Doug and Liz gave us a country welcome and escorted us to our villa. The attention to detail is impressive: Everything you might need for an escape to the country. The food is excellent: Scones, jam and cream. Bacon, eggs and hash browns, freshly baked bread. This is our new home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat
Responded Oct. 5, 2019
Hi again and thank you for your kind words about your experiences at our BnB and Spa-Cottages. We are most pleased that your escape to the country is your new home away from home. We look forward to continuing to welcome you at R on the Downs.
Read more
Roam40623972363 wrote a review Apr. 2019
1 contribution
Beautifully constructed and appointed homestead with very comfortable suites and lovely views of the Swanfels Valley farmlands, mountains and wildlife. Liz and Doug are outstanding hosts and provided us with afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast which was all cooked to perfection and was delicious.. Great place to stay for a few days to explore the Warwick, Killarney and Stanthorpe Regions.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat
Responded Apr. 4, 2019
Liz and I are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the kind words of your review. Please take care of each other and we look forward to again, hopefully in the near future, to sharing one of the "best experiences in Queensland" (just received notice of this Queensland Award this morning).
Read more
Mobile31284095082 wrote a review Apr. 2019
1 contribution
Service excellent, room excellent, the R on the downs rural retreat is set in a wonderful location overlooking the Yangan/Swanfels Valley only 15 or 20 minutes drive from Warwick and just a few minutes from the township of Yangan ,great getaway,choice of rooms and cottage available.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat
Responded Apr. 3, 2019
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review. We thoroughly enjoy meeting and sharing with guests our special piece of country paradise. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
DeanC01 wrote a review Sep. 2018
Preston8 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I stayed in the Settler's Cottage for one night but would love to have stayed longer. I had never heard of R on the Downs until I come across it in an article in the RACQ's Road Ahead magazine. The author gave it a very good review so I decided to give it a try. Very glad I did. The cottage was one of the best we have stayed in - the bed was great, the view was beautiful, the furniture was very comfortable and the kitchen was really well equipped. The cottage decorations were very tasteful with lots of interesting little touches. Everything was very clean and well maintained. We loved the fire and the generous sized couples spa. We really appreciated the little extras that Doug and Liz provided for us - scones and anzac biscuits (baked by Liz) for afternoon tea, icecreams in the freezer for dessert and chocolates and tawny port for after dinner. The breakfast hamper provided included bacon,sausages eggs and hash browns - more than enough for two. The hosts made us feel really welcome and Doug gave us lots of interesting info about the history of the resort as well as the history of the surrounding area. They have done a wonderful job of creating a high quality, country style resort. The sandstone homestead building is beautiful and looks like it has been there for decades. We would recommend this retreat for anyone seeking an escape from the rat race for a day, a weekend or even more. The area is very quiet - the only noise comes from the plentiful birdlife, the cows and horses on the nearby farms and the odd tractor. We will definitely be back for an anniversary or a birthday celebration in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Thoroughly recommend the settlers cottage for privacy and it is fully self-contained.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat
Responded Sep. 24, 2018
Thank you for your kind response, Liz and I are pleased you both enjoyed our very special place in the country. It was a pleasure to share R on the Downs with you and look forward to your return.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$127 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSouthern Downs RegionYangan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about R on the Downs Rural Retreat
What are some of the property amenities at R on the Downs Rural Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at R on the Downs Rural Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at R on the Downs Rural Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at R on the Downs Rural Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is R on the Downs Rural Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
亚洲欧美日韩精品专区,爱啪国产精品视频在线,亚洲国产精品免费线观看视频