We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden

3,426 Reviews

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden

3,426 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Tours & Sightseeing
Browse our largest collection of experiences
Transfers & Ground Transport
No stress transit for your arrival and departure
Walking & Biking Tours
Explore on your feet—and never miss anything
Multi-day & Extended Tours
Multi-day adventures—no planning needed
???
Browse
Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errily Friary
US$35.59 per adult
Popular: Booked by 3,630 travellers!
From Galway: Guided tour of Connemara and Connemara National Park.
US$41.52 per adult
Popular: Booked by 1,447 travellers!
Connemara Day Trip From Dublin
US$77.11 per adult
Popular: Booked by 1,683 travellers!
6-Day All Ireland Rail Tour from Dublin
US$1,593.27 per adult
Connemara and Cong Village Day Trip from Dublin
US$53.38 per adult
Popular: Booked by 356 travellers!
Shore Excursion: Full-day Connemara and Wild Atlantic Way Tour from Galway
US$53.38 per adult
Popular: Booked by 192 travellers!
See more
Full view
Location
Contact
Connemara On the N59 between Clifden and Westport, Kylemore Ireland
Get to know the area
Explore Ireland, Escorted 12 Day Tour of Ireland
Cultural Tours

Explore Ireland, Escorted 12 Day Tour of Ireland

Explore Ireland" - Escorted 12 Day Tours. Explore the various facets of Ireland &amp; experience the Beautiful landscapes of this "Emerald Ireland"<br>Discover heart-warming moments and spectacular sights. Explore the Island of Ireland<br>From the Causeway Coast and the Wild Atlantic Way to the Sunny South East and the 11 cities in between, now's the time to start exploring the Island of Ireland.
US$3,699.00 per adult
3,426Reviews23Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 2,017
  • 945
  • 314
  • 108
  • 42
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rosaleen O wrote a review Sep. 22
Cork, Cork, Ireland34 contributions6 helpful votes
Kylemore Abbey is well worth visiting. The Abbey is in a stunning location perched over the lake which reflects the castle. The walled gardens are a must. Created without a care for a budget and it shows. The glass houses which were built originally must have been a sight to behold with all the exotic fruits and flowers.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from KylemoreAbbeyGarden, Public Relations Manager at Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Rosaleen, Thank you so much for your recent trip to Kylemore Abbey and for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit here and we sincerely hope to get the opportunity to welcome you here again. If you would like to see what news and events are happening in Kylemore we would like to welcome you to visit our site, sign up to our e-zine or follow us on social media. Thank you again for your warm comments. Kind regards, The Kylemore Abbey Team.
Read more
Phyll110 wrote a review Sep. 21
Galway, Ireland62 contributions52 helpful votes
Pride, thats' what I felt as I walked around Kylemore Abbey and its beautiful gardens. It is all so lovingly restored. When so much of our heritage has been allowed to fall into decay, Kylemore Abbey has been enhanced. The setting is magnificent the gardens beautiful, the story of the abbeys inhabitants so well told . The house ,once a school, and the exquisite church are now restored to some of their former glory . We enjoyed an excellent lunch and had a most memorable walk in the gardens. Its a great day out . Congratulations to all involved in the restoration it can be a source of pride to every Irish citizen.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from KylemoreAbbeyGarden, Public Relations Manager at Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Phyll110, Thank you so much for your recent trip to Kylemore Abbey and for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit here and we sincerely hope to get the opportunity to welcome you here again. If you would like to see what news and events are happening in Kylemore we would like to welcome you to visit our site, sign up to our e-zine or follow us on social media. Thank you again for your warm comments. Kind regards, The Kylemore Abbey Team.
Read more
Bryan wrote a review Sep. 14
Ballymena, United Kingdom2 contributions
Cycled from Galway to Kylemore Abbey only to be refused cos we had bikes with us. Baffles me but hey ho. Very Christian like I must say..... not even an explanation...just a no you can’t!!! The Abbey must be minted to refuse cyclists and obviously don’t want to attract a growing tourism base in Connemara?? The Customer Service Manager has some work to do on the not so pleasant counter staff we were greeted with.....
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from KylemoreAbbeyGarden, Public Relations Manager at Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Responded 1 week ago
Dear S901IEbryank, Thank you for your recent visit to Kylemore and for taking the time to review us. We are so sorry you were disappointed with your visit. We wish for everyone who visits Kylemore to have an enjoyable experience and a warm welcome. We are sincerely sorry that this wasn’t your experience and we are very grateful that you brought to our attention. We have always welcomed cyclists to the estate but for safety reasons ask that visitors park their bikes in one of the bike racks before coming through to the visitor experience as we like to keep the avenue as clear as possible for pedestrians. I can only imagine that there was confusion in communicating this to you, however, If you would like to provide further details of your experience we would really welcome that as we ourselves would like to know what happened to ensure your experience isn't repeated. If you would like to provide more information please let us know at bookings@kylemoreabbey.com. We look forward to hearing from you, once again I hope we get to welcome you to Kylemore again and get to enjoy the full warmth of the Kylemore Welcome we wish to extend to every visitor. Kind regards, The Kylemore Abbey Team.
Read more
Julie B wrote a review Sep. 13
Westport, Ireland9 contributions
I live within an hours drive of this stunning spot but hadn't been there for years. What a stunning place with the grounds, buildings and gardens incredibly well maintained. The food in the restaurant is excellent. I was mostly impressed with the covid controls in place throughout the site..hats off to the Management and staff!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from KylemoreAbbeyGarden, Public Relations Manager at Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Julie B, Thank you so much for your recent trip to Kylemore Abbey and for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit here and we sincerely hope to get the opportunity to welcome you here again. If you would like to see what news and events are happening in Kylemore we would like to welcome you to visit our site, sign up to our e-zine or follow us on social media. Thank you again for your warm comments. Kind regards, The Kylemore Abbey Team.
Read more
whatsnewbt4 wrote a review Sep. 12
Belfast, United Kingdom115 contributions44 helpful votes
We called in to the Abbey but as there was 4 of us thought it was a bit expensive but still had a walk around and called into the gift shop!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from KylemoreAbbeyGarden, Public Relations Manager at Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
Responded 1 week ago
Dear whatsnewbt4, Thank you for your recent trip to Kylemore Abbey and for taking the time to review us. I take from the four stars you gave that you enjoyed your walk around and your time spent in the craft shop. I am sorry to hear to didn't go through to the full grounds on this occasion but we would love to welcome you back again to experience the full site. The ticket entry covers the Abbey, Victorian Walled Gardens, neo-Gothic Church, walks, shuttle bus and any talks that are taking place on the day and so one could easily spend 4+ hours on the 1,000-acre estate. Thank you again for your review and visit. I hope we get to welcome you to Kylemore again soon. Kind regards, The Kylemore Abbey Team.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden