We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maria Island Walk

Maria Island, Australia
More
About The Maria Island Walk
On this wonderful 4 day walk through a world heritage national park you’ll experience breathtaking scenery, fascinating history and rare and unusual Tasmanian wildlife. With your 2 fabulous guides guests carry only light packs and each night enjoy exclusive elegant accommodation and candlelit dining. We invite you to join us and discover why we are the most awarded walk in Australia.
Travellers talk about
95Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Barryw wrote a review May 2020
Ocean Grove, Australia14 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
This is glamping with a strenuous edge ... sensational facilities of an evening ,including good food and local wine,but mildly challenging walking during the day .Well organised with extremely knowledgeable guides that take you through the fantastic array of experiences this Island has to offer ...Highly recommended... Many thanks to the professional Emily and Fergus (our two guides ) who guided through this fantastic 3 day discovery.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from mariaislandwalk, Guest Relations Manager at The Maria Island Walk
Responded May 17, 2020
Hi Barry, Thankyou very much for your lovely review of your trip with us on Maria Island! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself, especially your praise for your wonderful guides. We also appreciate you sharing your photos with us - what a cute baby wombat! Thanks again for joining us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Regards, Jemma.
Read more
Jenny S wrote a review May 2020
13 contributions3 helpful votes
Spent four wonderful days wandering this little island that sits just off the coast of Tasmania in a stunning passage of water. The island has an amazing history (but I will let the guides tell you that) Walking from one end to the other you are shown the diversity of geology across it. From the pink lichen granite at the bottom to the stunning painted sandstone cliffs then finally the amazing dolorite columns of Bishop and Clerk on mountain day. The guides are incredibly knowledgeable and such wonderful chefs, they bend over backwards to make your trip a memorable one. At the end of each day you sleep surrounded by the sounds of nature... what more could one want....
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from mariaislandwalk, Guest Relations Manager at The Maria Island Walk
Responded May 17, 2020
Hi Jenny, Thankyou for such a wonderful review of your walk! You've really painted a picture of what our guests experience during their four day walk, from the history to the fascinating geology and the wonderful guides. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and loved Maria Island as much as we do. Regards, Jemma.
Read more
Joan J wrote a review May 2020
Brisbane, Australia46 contributions10 helpful votes
We had the Maria Island Walk experience a few years ago, but enjoyed it immensely. The walking was varied, the wildlife interesting, and all the support provided was awesome! Can't wait to do another 3-4 day walk as soon as restrictions are eased.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from mariaislandwalk, Guest Relations Manager at The Maria Island Walk
Responded May 17, 2020
Hi Joan, Thankyou very much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us a few years after your walk! We would love to have you back on Maria Island some day, and we hope that you can get out in nature walking again soon. Thanks again! Regards, Jemma.
Read more
Mabelgoeseverywhere wrote a review May 2020
New South Wales, Australia11 contributions
We booked the Maria Island walk in January for a milestone birthday celebration of mine! And did the walk as a family - our youngest was 8 years old. While we carried extras in our pack so our youngest wouldn't be carrying much, she managed the walk quite easily. The packing list they give you after booking is comprehensive and the guides seem to have everything in their packs that you may need along the way. The guides were amazing. The landscapes were awesome and ever changing. The food was delicious! My kind of camping- tramping into camp after a great days walk to have a glass of wine waiting for you - fabulous! We really enjoyed the bush camps. It is not cheap but for a special occasion or a treat to cross off your bucket list - we can recommend this walk - it is worth it!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from mariaislandwalk, Guest Relations Manager at The Maria Island Walk
Responded May 17, 2020
Hi Roslyn, Thankyou for your lovely review! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves on your walk, and it was a pleasure to have you along to celebrate your birthday. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the food and the waiting glass of wine at the end of the walk each day - we think it's the best way to finish up the day! Thanks again for joining us. Regards, Jemma.
Read more
Helen wrote a review Mar. 2020
1 contribution
This is the perfect escape. We loved the four day Maria Island Walk. Beautiful beaches, rainforest walks, magnificent mountain views, and wild wombats were just some of the highlights. The guides were excellent and everything was managed so that we had a wonderful, relaxing experience. Thank you!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from mariaislandwalk, Guest Relations Manager at The Maria Island Walk
Responded Mar. 29, 2020
Hi, Thankyou for your kind review! We're so glad to hear that you loved your time on The Maria Island Walk, and that you had so many highlights from your experience. It's great that you found your time with us relaxing, considering that it's a walk! That's a great compliment to us. Thanks again.
Read more
Previous