We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Intan

565 Reviews

The Intan

565 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Singapore
Full view
Location
Contact
69 Joo Chiat Terrace, Singapore 427231 Singapore
Getting there
DowntownSingapore Mass Rapid Transit83 min
Raffles PlaceSingapore Mass Rapid Transit81 min
Get to know the area
Private Singapore City Highlights Tour By Car - Half Day or Full Day
Cultural Tours

Private Singapore City Highlights Tour By Car - Half Day or Full Day

16 reviews
With beautiful waterfront scenery, pretty gardens, and cutting-edge galleries, Singapore ranks among Asia’s must-see cities—but beating the crowds and exploring independently by public transport can be challenging. On this tour, spin through Singapore by private air-conditioned minivan and explore in comfort. Hit top attractions like Chinatown, Gardens by the Bay, Little India, or Marina Bay with your guide, and customize your itinerary to hit the highlights of most interest.
US$250.47 per adult
565Reviews5Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 461
  • 90
  • 7
  • 3
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tab_love_ wrote a review Sep. 24
Singapore, Singapore10 contributions8 helpful votes
Alvin's home is a treasure trove and we enjoyed our morning exploring his collections and learning more about Peranakan culture.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Pam from Singapore wrote a review Sep. 21
Singapore, Singapore13 contributions11 helpful votes
The visit started on time, comfortably, professionally and through out the visit, one was not rushed. Alvin shared unreservedly his passion and knowledge of the Peranakan culture, childhood stories, and his antiques. Its a privilege to step into his home and to get up close and personal to his belongings. The end of the tour came with traditional homemade kway (cakes) and tea. For what its worth, overall value to what was paid can be improved if the price remains. Perhaps offering take-home jar of kaya or a small jar of kway tarts or Peranakan tile stickers etc.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvin_Yapp, Owner at The Intan
Responded 4 days ago
It is so lovely to have you visit The Intan! I'm glad you could sense the passion even though we were all MASKED up! One certainly needs to have the passion given that the owner has been collecting for more than 30 years! We will certainly take your suggestions into account and see how we can continue adding value to every visitor's experience!
Read more
Jeff wrote a review Sep. 16
12 contributions
The Intan is all about Crazy Rich Asian! It is Crazy! Walk into the actual home of owner, collector, cultural storyteller, Musician, charitable Alvin Yapp. He loves his culture and heritage so much that he devoted his life to collecting historical pieces of Peranakan antiques around the world to piece the story of the Peranakan culture to you. It is Rich! The bespoke tour is intimate, inspiring and highly immersive. You will never get this kind of experience in a regular museum. History comes alive through Alvin’s story and if you are lucky enough, you will get to taste it! You will walk away with a rich experience knowing more about the values of the Peranakan. It is all about Asians! Get into the skin of the Peranakan and appreciate why they did what they did and how they embrace globalisation from the beginning.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvin_Yapp, Owner at The Intan
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your crazy rich review! The Perankans were indeed wealthy , and this could be seen by taste for the finer things in life! At The Intan, you can see hand painted porcelain from China, intricately crafted silver accessories, mother of pearl furniture and even minuscule hand beaded slippers! Each visit is made memorable with the stories that accompany them , told by the owner himself.
Read more
Laura O wrote a review Aug. 2020
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions
We had a lovely morning with Alvin, visiting the Intan. We did a group home visit and enjoyed looking at all the different pieces that Alvin has collected over the years. This is a fascinating part of Singapore’s culture and great to experience in such an intimate environment.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Albert Tan wrote a review Jul. 2020
1 contribution
Visited The Intan, Peranakan museum. I was amazed and impressed w the collections of the owner Mr Alvin Yapp. He has vast knowledge of the Peranakan Heritage and I had a good time understanding the Nyonya culture. In fact, i don't feel like i am visiting a museum but visiting a long time nyonya friend, it really feels like home. Wonderful experience! Thank you Alvin
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvin_Yapp, Owner at The Intan
Responded Jul. 14, 2020
We are so glad that you enjoyed the visit And yes of course it feels like visiting a HOME because it is THE HOME Of the owner!
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about The Intan