We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RiverFly 1864

Features Animals
Launceston, Australia
More
About RiverFly 1864
Guided fly fishing for wild trout on northern Tasmania's rivers. Wilderness fly fishing at RiverFly's private wilderness camp, in the UNESCO World Heritage Area. 2016 Qantas Australian Tourism Award winner & 2017 Silver. Multiple Tasmanian Tourism Award Winner.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
See all hours
Travellers talk about
13Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dreamer400700 wrote a review Oct. 2019
2 contributions
Me and my partner had a wonderful day fishing with Peter from Riverfly1864. My partner caught her first fish ever followed by many more throughout the day. I would highly recommend Riverfly1864 as they are professional and incredibly knowledgeable.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RiverFly1864, Owner at RiverFly 1864
Responded Oct. 16, 2019
Thanks so much, great to have you down, and have a great season thanks. Daniel Hackett
Read more
DBMFISH wrote a review Apr. 2019
20 contributions7 helpful votes
I had an awesome day out with Peter from Riverfly1864. We went to some great locations and I learned so much from him. Peter really helped me improve my casting and trout fishing in general while taking me to some awesome spots and putting me onto some great fish! I really enjoyed my day out and would recommend the Riverfly1864 guiding to anyone considering trout fishing in Launceston.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Helpful
Share
mikezim wrote a review Nov. 2018
sydney9 contributions1 helpful vote
My brother and I used Daniel and then Peter for 3 days of fishing around Launceston. Both guides very knowledgeable about the area, friendly and easy to chat with. Brought us to beautiful rivers and put us onto a number of fish. Provided morning tea (muffin/fruit), basic lunch (sandwich and water) and some coffee. Would definitely consider using again on next trip.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from RiverFly1864, Owner at RiverFly 1864
Responded Dec. 13, 2018
Thanks Mike! Have a great Summer and thank you for your visit
Read more
642grantm wrote a review Feb. 2018
Sydney, Australia113 contributions44 helpful votes
We were picked up by Peter at 8.45am and off we headed with no idea where we would fish. We've always gone to NZ to fish but I had a spare day in Launceston so decided to give it a try. What a day!! We lost count about how many we caught. The highlight for me was watching my wife finally becoming really confident catching and landing fish. This was all down to Peter's guidance. Such a calming influence and only mildly annoyed when we dropped a fish.Beautiful country, a lovely little stream and full of fish.Can't thank RiverFly enough and especially Peter. We will be back but for more than a day next time.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mikeball2017 wrote a review Apr. 2017
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
Great day flyfishing with Peter Broomhall in the Mersey system.Peter assessed my ability very quickly and tailored the trip to be both challenging and fun.The location was breathtakingly beautiful and the style of fishing in tight streams on the dryfly very appealing.I would recommend this style of fishing to anyone you are in good hands with Peter.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: March 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from RiverFly, Owner at RiverFly 1864
Responded Apr. 4, 2017
Thanks Michael!
Read more
Previous