We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Koorie Heritage Trust

47 Reviews

Koorie Heritage Trust

47 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Melbourne
Half Day Small Group Guided Shopping Tour in Melbourne
US$54.27 per adult
Full view
Location
Contact
Federation Square Levels 1 & 3, Yarra Building, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia
Get to know the area
Yarra Valley Balloon Flight at Sunrise
Balloon Rides

Yarra Valley Balloon Flight at Sunrise

202 reviews
If you’re searching for an extra special experience, look no further than this sunrise hot-air balloon flight over Melbourne’s Yarra Valley—a perfect choice for couples. In an intimate group limited to 16 people, float over Yarra Valley vineyards at sunrise, when the landscapes look most magical. Plus, you can upgrade to include a?sparkling wine breakfast and hotel transfers for a seamless experience.
US$294.62 per adult
47Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 12
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kirkcaldylad wrote a review Feb. 2020
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom1,714 contributions713 helpful votes
This gallery/centre/education facility is in a prominent building on Federation Square but it is too easy to bypass it even though there are notices outside. It is a mix of gallery and museum and education centre. The temporary art exhibition of works by aboriginal artists in the local community was fascinating for the talent on show and the variety of work that is by no means all “dot” paintings although there were some fine examples of that genre. On upper floors there was a small exhibition of works by kids and a collection of artefacts with good explanations. It is small, does not take up much of your time and it is well worth wee detour across the square.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from koorieheritagetrust, Manager at Koorie Heritage Trust
Responded Feb. 19, 2020
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we'll see you back at the Trust.
Read more
platypus150 wrote a review Feb. 2020
Melbourne, Australia18,622 contributions739 helpful votes
+1
I learned much from the exhibits and artifacts about aboriginal history in this area. I was especially impressed with the art exhibition - full of colour and interesting design. My only regret was that Christmas is so far off as I would buy my presents here. Entry is free as well.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from koorieheritagetrust, Manager at Koorie Heritage Trust
Responded Feb. 19, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to the Trust especially before Christmas :-)
Read more
CardiffMaddie wrote a review Jan. 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom1,488 contributions456 helpful votes
We were hoping to get a good insight into the indigenous people of Australia. This didn't really hit the mark. The lower and upper level has lots of original artwork and artifacts from Aboriginal culture, but we were looking to hear the Aboriginal story. Also, disappointing that we didn't see any Aboriginal employees who could have provided some insight.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from koorieheritagetrust, Manager at Koorie Heritage Trust
Responded Feb. 19, 2020
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to visit the Trust and to leave a review. At the Koorie Heritage Trust, we tell the story of Aboriginal Victoria rather than all the First Nations people across Australia. The art and culture of Aboriginal Victoria is very different from what you would expect to find elsewhere. Our staff are majority Victorian Aboriginal including our reception and retail staff and all of our cultural education guides. We do provide daily public tours which provides insight to Victorian Aboriginal peoples and communities - we hope when you visit next time you will be able to take part in one of these tours.
Read more
Christina C wrote a review Jan. 2020
Coquitlam, Canada6,317 contributions730 helpful votes
+1
Federation square has many attractions, but we inadvertently wandered into Koorie Heritage Trust. We were glad we did. Just from the art displayed at the entrance of the door, I already know this would be an interesting place to visit. They have the largest collections of Koorie arts and artefacts on display, promoting the living culture of the Indigenous people of south-east Australia. That was an educational visit. Happy Travelling!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from koorieheritagetrust, Manager at Koorie Heritage Trust
Responded Feb. 19, 2020
Hi Christina. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for leaving a positive review. We hope you come back soon.
Read more
Bailey wrote a review Dec. 2019
Portmeirion, United Kingdom26 contributions4 helpful votes
We didn’t see much of interest inside the centre. It was only upon leaving, that we learnt from a poster that they offer tours. Sadly we had miss d the boat (well the tour) which was sad.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from koorieheritagetrust, Manager at Koorie Heritage Trust
Responded Feb. 19, 2020
Hi. Thank you for visiting and leaving a review. We will be reviewing our visitor experience in 2020 to ensure that all visitors are award of what we offer and hopefully participate in one of our tours which provides insight on the Victorian Aboriginal communities.
Read more
Previous
1234569
Frequently Asked Questions about Koorie Heritage Trust