We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Culture Connect Australia

#102 of 209 Tours in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
More
About Culture Connect Australia
Culture Connect specialises in intimate, genuine Aboriginal cultural experiences with Indigenous Traditional Owners on their homelands. Offering tours, private charters and special events allows travellers to choose from a wide variety of experiences in North Queensland which has a rich and varied cultural landscape. Tours depart from Cairns, Port Douglas and Cooktown.
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
See all hours
Travellers talk about
17Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ssreekumar2019 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
The Culture Connect tour which included the art class is an experience I will cherish forever. Roger from Culture Connect made the drive to the Janbal art gallery so interesting recounting his experiences and sharing his knowledge about the Aboriginal community in Northern Queensland. Binna is a legend - he made the class interactive and hands on - easy for anyone to follow. He has amazing talent and I have to mention that the art works of his mother on display in the gallery are exquisite - great precision and so much detail. Highly recommend this tour to all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger d, General Manager at Culture Connect Australia
Responded Dec. 11, 2019
Thanks for a great review. It was great to share culture with you and your boomerang painting is a masterpiece. Thank you for your support and hope we can show you some of the rock art galleries some day.
Read more
willyb218 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Sydney, Australia21 contributions17 helpful votes
Roger was an excellent guide and host. Willing to go beyond to make the day special, The food gathering with the local people was extra special as they showed us how to hunt for crabs and seafood. Eating what we had caught with damper and mangoes straight off the tree, just magic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger d, General Manager at Culture Connect Australia
Responded Dec. 8, 2019
Thanks for the great review. Glad you had a great day... its always a bonus when its mango season. Hope we can show you the rock art galleries some time.
Read more
laokai wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Roger and Syd did a great job leading our university group over three days in Queensland, including the coastal survival walk, a guided tour of Mossman Gorge, and sites in the Atherton Tablelands. Culture Connect tailored our itinerary to help meet the needs and interests of our group, and the guides are incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. I strongly recommend Culture Connect if you want to get to know real people and places in Queensland, and it's a great way to support Aboriginal-owned and managed businesses.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger d, General Manager at Culture Connect Australia
Responded Oct. 10, 2019
Thank you for your review. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with the university group...education is key for connecting cultures. We hope you can make it back to North Queensland...we will take you out to the Rock Art Galleries. Thanks again and hope the rest of your stay in Oz is awesome!!
Read more
standarddeviant wrote a review Oct. 2019
Syracuse, New York5 contributions1 helpful vote
We are Americans visiting Australia for the first time, and Culture Connect is the beet tour provider we’ve had. They work with local aboriginal providers to give you a deeper experience of these amazing places. We did a rainforest tour and the half day coastal survival walk. In both cases, our guides were incredibly knowledgeable, both from education and because this is their land and community and tradition. Plus it was enormous fun and super interesting. (The guides were charming and funny as well and really good at their jobs.) It was a great way togo experience something much more meaningful and unforgettable than the typical tourist experience. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger d, General Manager at Culture Connect Australia
Responded Oct. 10, 2019
Wow!! Thanks for a great review...meaningful and fun is what its all about. We are happy to have given you a deeper view about Indigenous culture and the environment. Thank you for choosing us to help educate your wonderful students... I hope they will share the story back in America...
Read more
susi03 wrote a review Sep. 2019
melbourne australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our full day tour started with a visit to wonderful rock art, some quite unlike any we had seen before in an isolated peaceful area of country. Dylan had many stories to illustrate the paintings and in the afternoon we did an extensive tour of the station to see management issues and environmental problems and proposed solutions. It was a day well spent in his company on the family's outback cattle station
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger d, General Manager at Culture Connect Australia
Responded Sep. 9, 2019
Thanks for your review Susan, We are happy you got to spend some quality time with Dylan on his homelands. The Rock Art galleries of Normanby Station are quite special and very few people have seen them. We are very privileged to be able to showcase traditional and contemporary Balnggarrawarra culture. Hope to see you back there sometime!
Read more
Previous