We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
304Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 165
  • 85
  • 32
  • 15
  • 7
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Natalie K wrote a review Jan. 2020
Neutral Bay, Australia85 contributions11 helpful votes
Hands down the best winery i've been to, the buildings, views, service and wines themselves all make it an experience to never forget. There's historical artefacts in the winery which were so interesting to read. I think we ended up walking away with 5 bottles of wine for our checked in luggage! Signed up as a member and will definirely be back. Next time i'd love to dine in the cafe, we were running out of time and were only able to stay for a glass of wine while indulging in the river views outside.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from HayleyPurbrick, Owner at Tahbilk
Responded Feb. 24, 2020
Thank you very mich for your review. Sounds like you had the full experience which is what we love to see! Look forward to seeing you next time for lunch in the cafe.
Read more
Patricia S wrote a review Jan. 2020
Prangins, Switzerland19 contributions7 helpful votes
If you go to one winery, go here. Tahbilk was the best and by far the most interesting winery we visited in Australia. Here you learn the history of wine in Australia and a family who worked hard to make it happen. Historic buildings, nature reserve open to public. Generous tastings of their better wines. Cafe. Dont miss it!!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael B, Guest Relations Manager at Tahbilk
Responded Jan. 22, 2020
Thank you so much! It's a real treat to respond to your review, and it's even better to hear you enjoyed every aspect of the winery form the underground cellars, wine tasting, wetland walks and lunch at the cafe. Thank you for recommending us. We hope you will return soon!
Read more
haraseelhsa wrote a review Jan. 2020
38 contributions8 helpful votes
The cellar door is a truly wonderful hidden gem! Slightly tucked away from the cafe, it is worth the walk over there. Plenty of on site history both in the grounds and the cellar door. A highlight was being able to go underground and still find that they use the barrells stored there in the current harvests. It was lovely to wander through and smell the oak and feel the tempturw difference then the somewhat warm day above ground. Being in the food industry ourselves we could imagine long tables running through the centre of it all and people sitting around enjoying lunch with matching wine amongst the barrels. The girls in the cellar door were very good at their job and made it comfortable to be there. They were very good at working out what sort of things we liked by asking a few questions and pointing us in the right direction, the sparkling shiraz even won me over (a general white wine drinker). We can not wait to sit back an enjoy the goodies we purchased.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael B, Guest Relations Manager at Tahbilk
Responded Jan. 8, 2020
Thank you very much! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time here, soaking up the sights and smells of the cellars, the history and of course sampling some of the wines. It was our pleasure to find something you'll enjoy, and we're happy you discovered something a little different that wasn't your usual go-to. We hope you'll enjoy your wines with your friends and family and that we'll see you again soon!
Read more
zebony1 wrote a review Nov. 2019
Melbourne, Australia49 contributions20 helpful votes
This winery is lovely, staff are very helpful and friendly the wine prices are very reasonable. We had a coffee at the restaurant which is nice but we didn’t eat there. It has blending classes and tours you need to book through the office. Lovely grounds. Nice place to visit.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael B, Guest Relations Manager at Tahbilk
Responded Nov. 19, 2019
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you soon.
Read more
Angela F wrote a review Oct. 2019
Sunbury, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Drove from Sunbury to Tahbilk cafe. Past experiences have been good and we were looking forward to an enjoyable meal. My pork sausages served on plain quinoa were bland and dry and the broccolini was nearly raw. My husband's chicken breast was dry and over salted and had a hard crust. Both dishes were half cold. Staff disinterested- had to ask for knives and forks - terrible value for money and, sadly, will not be returning.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael B, Guest Relations Manager at Tahbilk
Responded Nov. 25, 2019
Thank you for your honest view; I can see how this would have been a disappointing experience. We take your comments seriously and have taken action on the issues raised with the intention to improve. We hope you can accept our apology and that we'll see you again.
Read more
Previous