We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Johnstown Castle

82 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Johnstown Castle

82 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around County Wexford
from US$10.72
More Info
from US$903.22
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
Oldtown Ln, Y35 HP22 Ireland
Get to know the area
Hook Small-Group Walking Tour
Historical & Heritage Tours

Hook Small-Group Walking Tour

A walk along a popular route around the tip of the peninsula, but with guidance from a local. Liam points out unique features and history along the way, including the stone walls, lime industry, local landmark names, fish traditions, coastal living through the centuries and plenty of local stories.
US$23.82 per adult
82Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 14
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kittycatt738 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Dublin, Ireland22 contributions3 helpful votes
I've lived locally for over twenty years and was so excited to finally see more of the castle insides. We even got a tour guide that wasn't a history student doing part time works which is the usual on these kinds of yours. Johnstown Castle is truly a special place. Though I do not agree with it becoming pay in with its most out of place Scandinavian Industrial nouveau tourist centre, I am happy to have the opportunity to see it come alive again.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Wandergram wrote a review Sep. 2020
44 contributions2 helpful votes
What a wonderful place to visit. The agricultural museum was really interesting and the gardens were beautiful. The peacocks wandering around the place, the fabulous trees and manicured lawns were lovely. We spent a few hours here wandering around the various walking trails and exploring the gardens. The tour of the Castle was booked out but we really enjoyed our time here regardless. We enjoyed tea and a snack at the café. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Johnstown Castle and Gardens and would highly recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AKellyKehoe, Marketing at Johnstown Castle
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Wandergram Thank you for your review and kind words. I am delighted to hear you got to enjoy the many elements to a visit to Johnstown. The gardens certainly are lovely for a wander around. I do hope we can welcome you back to Johnstown again in future for a tour of the Castle.
Read more
Departure45152045209 wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution
Had a fabulous day here yesterday with my wife. Brought a picnic and had pre booked the tour of the castle. One of the best castle tours in Ireland, and we've been on a lot of them. I must say the staff really made a great job to have the place covid friendly and we felt very safe at all times. Highly recommend a visit here, we spent all afternoon here and it was well worth it. Well done to everyone involved and thanks for a great day.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AKellyKehoe, Marketing at Johnstown Castle
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Departure45152045209 Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you both enjoyed your visit. A picnic in the gardens at this time of year is certainly a treat with the beautiful colours! I will pass on your kind words to our team of tour guides - the Castle has such a rich history and we are delighted to share it. Our team here has completed the Failte Ireland Safety Charter training to ensure we are in line with the most up to date safety standards in relation to Covid19. The safety and comfort of both our guests and staff is at the forefront of what we do. I am very glad to hear that you both felt safe and had such a great day. I do hope we can welcome you back in future.
Read more
Niamh O wrote a review Sep. 2020
Limerick, Ireland79 contributions36 helpful votes
Visited here recently and got to do a tour of the castle by two guide guides who were so informative and very nice. Great tour and the grounds are amazing, the gardens are immaculately kept and spotless clean. Definitely worth a visit.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AKellyKehoe, Marketing at Johnstown Castle
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Niamh O Many thanks for your kind words. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. The gardens are certainly full of colour as we move towards Autumn and they do look beautiful. I will pass on your compliments to our tour guides. They are all very passionate about sharing the rich history of Johnstown and it certainly does show in their tours. I hope we can welcome you back again in future.
Read more
JTPDoyle wrote a review Sep. 2020
Dublin, Ireland39 contributions8 helpful votes
We decided to pop out to Johnstown Castle on our staycation. We hadn't made plans and just went about midday. When we arrived we were told the castle tours were booked out for the day which was disappointing. We paid €9 each for the museum and grounds. The museum is a hidden gem. The variety of old traps and carts, tractors and Agri machinery was fascinating. The history of the estate and aspects of wexfords history are well covered. The famine exhibition is also engaging. The gardens are also beautiful and it was a pleasant walk around them. Also met a flock of feathered friends (see one in the photo)
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AKellyKehoe, Marketing at Johnstown Castle
Responded 1 week ago
Hi JTPDoyle Many thanks for taking the time to write you review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the Agricultural Museum. I am sorry to hear you didn't get to do the Castle tour on the day. In line with Covid guidelines we have reduced the numbers we can take on tours and as such the tours are filling up a little bit more quickly. If you are visiting Wexford again, please do pop us an email or call and we arrange a Castle tour booking for you.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Johnstown Castle