We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum

1,109 Reviews

Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum

1,109 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Waterford
Epic Tour of the Viking Triangle
US$9.13 per adult
Popular: Booked by 333 travellers!
Medieval Museum and Bishop's Palace: Combined Admission Ticket
US$18.08 per adult
Popular: Booked by 130 travellers!
Full view
Location
Contact
Cathedral Square Viking Triangle, Waterford X91 K10E Ireland
Get to know the area
Shore excursion from Cobh to Waterford Crystal and Middleton Distillery
Cultural Tours

Shore excursion from Cobh to Waterford Crystal and Middleton Distillery

From the glitz of the showroom at Waterford to toasting with a glass at Middleton! Enjoy the rolling farmland scenery along the way whilst your guide keeps you entertained with stories of past and present!
US$618.27 per adult
1,109Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 806
  • 239
  • 50
  • 9
  • 5
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Aileen-52-Dublin wrote a review Sep. 17
Dublin, Ireland23 contributions24 helpful votes
We really enjoyed the tours in both places, also there was an auditorium showing films. I found this a fascinating tour and both guides were excellent. We were very lucky as a tour was just about to start when we arrived in the Medieval Museum. The kind girl on the reception booked us in for a tour in the Bishop's Palace for later in the afternoon. We were given a voucher for tea/coffee in the courtyard between the 2 Museums . So we sat out in the sun for 40 mins. between the 2 tours.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Responded 2 days ago
Good afternoon Aileen Many thanks for your very kind word's, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us this valuable feedback. All of our professional guides love to interact with all of the visitors who come to visit and enjoy imparting their knowledge and history of our beautiful city. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team in the museum and I'm delighted you enjoyed your 'FREE' cup of tea/coffee at the Bishop's Palace café, we organised the sun for you. We do hope you come back and visit us again. Go raibh míle maith agat! #Tea #Coffee #Free #History #Waterford #LoveWaterford #DiscoverIreland #Staycation
Read more
Mollie wrote a review Sep. 17
3 contributions
First class. This was a brilliant experience. Fantastic tour guide. Highly recommend this. Very informative!!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Responded 2 days ago
Good afternoon Thank you for coming to visit the award winning Medieval Museum, here in Ireland's oldest city. We really appreciate your generous feedback. I will pass on your very kind comments regarding your recent visit to our guides, who looked after you on the day. We hope to see you again! Go raibh míle maith agat! #Medieval #History #Waterford #LoveWaterford #DiscoverIreland #KeepDiscovering #StayCation
Read more
Sarah B wrote a review Sep. 14
1 contribution
Great tour! Lots of interesting history. Who would have thought Waterford had such a colourful past? The tour was made all the more entertaining by our wonderful guide Aine in the medieval museum.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Responded 5 days ago
Good afternoon SMGbrady Many thanks for such a wonderful review. Yes, it's amazing what history Ireland's oldest city, ‘Veerafj?rer’ (Waterford), has. I'm delighted that áine looked after you on your visit, all of our professional tour guides bring our history alive with their stories and tales from times gone by. We do hope you can come back and visit us again. Go raibh mile maith agat! #Waterford #LoveWaterford #History #Medieval #Staycation #DiscoverIreland
Read more
Cliona C wrote a review Sep. 14
Galway, Ireland1 contribution
On a quiet damp Sunday, the Medieval museum was really fantastic. It really did give a fascinating insight in to the region from Viking times. The three adults really enjoyed it, but wasnt a whole lot to keep kids fully engaged. For adults though, still give it 5 stars
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Responded 5 days ago
Good afternoon Clíona Thank you Clíona for such a kind and wonderful review of your recent tour. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the guided tour, which is the best way to see and hear all about medieval Waterford, Ireland's oldest city. All of our guides really enjoy their work and love to build on the exhibits and artefacts with additional stories and tales from bygone times and they do try to interact with the kids on the tours to bring history to their level as well. Due to the coronavirus, we have had to remove the colouring sheets, pens etc., that the kids would normally play with, to help keep them entertained. Go raibh míle maith agat! #Medieval #History #Waterford #LoveWaterford #Staycation #DiscoverIreland
Read more
Hazel A wrote a review Sep. 13
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Two fantastic experiences - the tours in both venues were led by extremely friendly and knowledgeable guides. The ‘housekeeper’ tour guide in the Bishop’s Palace was excellent - a great idea to make a tour informative and entertaining. The artefacts in the medieval museum in particular were simply stunning (the Charter roll and the golden vestments are magnificent) and our tour guide was also excellent. You should not miss these attractions on a visit to Waterford.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Responded 5 days ago
Good afternoon Hazel 'Excellent'....... I'm delighted that you thought your guided tours were 'excellent', we aim to achieve that reaction with all of our guests. Our guided tours with our professional team guiding you through the award winning Medieval Museum and the beautiful Georgian Bishop's Palace love to interact with all of our guests to bring our history alive, and we definitely seem to have achieved that with your visits to both museums. Thank you for visiting and enjoying what we have to offer here in Ireland's oldest city, ‘Veerafj?rer’ (Waterford). Go raibh míle maith agat! #CombinedTicket #History #Waterford #LoveWaterford #DiscoverIreland #Staycation
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum