We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story

1,608 Reviews

The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story

1,608 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Dublin
The Great Irish Famine Tour
US$321.09 per adult
Full-day Private Dublin City Highlights Tour
US$602.03 per adult
Popular: Booked by 231 travellers!
A History of Ireland: St.Patrick to the Celtic Tiger
US$385.29 per adult
Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
US$26.49 per adult
Popular: Booked by 4,095 travellers!
See more
Full view
Location
Contact
Custom House Quay, Dublin D01 KX44 Ireland
Getting there
Mayor Square-NCIDublin Luas3 min
George's DockDublin Luas3 min
Get to know the area
Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin
Day Trips

Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

1,585 reviews
Making the journey from Dublin to the Cliffs of Moher can be quite the challenge without shelling out the cash to rent a car. This guided tour makes it easy to affordably travel to the cliffs, as well as other hot spots in Country Clare, including Doolin, Burren National Park, and Galway. Plus, this experience comes with round-trip transport in a comfortable coach and your admission ticket to the main attraction.
US$60.21 per adult
1,608Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 1,041
  • 432
  • 94
  • 29
  • 12
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Clare McCarthy wrote a review Sep. 5
Stalybridge, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
This is a lot more fun than you might imagine a tour of an emigrant ship from the famine would be. Our guide, Gearoid, was excellent, and really good and explaining history in a modern context. The ship is actually a replica but this does not detract from the experience in any way. I learned some really interesting facts about the famine, emigration and ships.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from JeanieJohnston, The Jeanie Johnston Team at The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story
Responded 1 week ago
Hi ClareMcCarthy27, Thank you for visiting the Jeanie Johnston. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation. Kind Regards, Becca, The Jeanie Johnston Team
Read more
Berni110 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Dublin, Ireland336 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
Spent a lovely afternoon doing this tour. Our guide Gearoid was very friendly, professional & interactive with the kids on the day. We met at our allocated time (must be prebooked) & we were brought on to the ship where our guide started to tell us some history behind the beautiful ship. We were then taken downstairs on the ship(steps quite steep)(duration 15mins downstairs)where we saw some life like dummies in position as they would have been all those years ago. The doctor, the captain, the children in the bunk beds etc... we were seated & told the interesting facts & stories of the journey. As we visited during Covid 19, some parts of the ship are closed off. The duration of the tour lasted approx 40mins. We got to take some photos & Gearoid was available to answer questions. Overall a very good tour & would recommend it.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from JeanieJohnston, The Jeanie Johnston Team at The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Berni110, Thank you for visiting the Jeanie Johnston. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation. Kind Regards, Becca, The Jeanie Johnston Team
Read more
hiber wrote a review Aug. 2020
Dublin, Ireland51 contributions15 helpful votes
Great tour, fantastic stories, but I would not really recommend it for children under 10. Our tour guide was nice and friendly and funny, but my kids found the tour boring as they thought they could see more. Now - maybe due to social distancing, I have not visited the ship in normal times - the tour is 50 minutes, 30 minutes storytelling on the deck, 15 minutes inside the ship, 5 minutes on the deck. (There is a covered space on the deck, so the tour is enjoyable even in rainy weather.)
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from JeanieJohnston, The Jeanie Johnston Team at The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story
Responded 1 week ago
Hi hiber, Thank you for visiting the Jeanie Johnston. We are sorry to hear that your children did not enjoy their visit. Overall our feedback from families who visit with young children is all positive. They really enjoy the space, even if the material would be too advanced for them. This is why children aged 5 and under are admitted free of charge. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your feedback and recommendation. Kind Regards, Becca, The Jeanie Johnston Team
Read more
R C wrote a review Aug. 2020
Dublin, Ireland6 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a brilliant tour provided by Gearóid who explained all the ship and country's history in a way that was so well done for the adults and kids. Going down below was amazing as you get to see the real conditions people travelled in
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from JeanieJohnston, The Jeanie Johnston Team at The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story
Responded 1 week ago
Hi raychelco, Thank you for visiting the Jeanie Johnston. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation. Kind Regards, Becca, The Jeanie Johnston Team
Read more
starskys77 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Dublin, Ireland34 contributions15 helpful votes
See my review on the Famine sculptures/memorial. This vessel is an exact replica of the ship that used to carry the Irish people across the world in the hopes of a better life, and to escape the horrors of famine and oppression at home. This replica was constructed at Blennerville in Tralee Co.Kerry and after a few years resting in Fenit harbour, Also in Co.kerry (I used to fish off that particular harbour on the boats' port side, and so have many fond memories of it from both sides of the country.) In more recent years, it has found a permanent home on Dublin's docklands and serves as a reminder of the Liffey's maritime history .
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JeanieJohnston, The Jeanie Johnston Team at The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story
Responded 1 week ago
Hi starskys77, Thank you for visiting the Jeanie Johnston. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation. Kind Regards, Becca, The Jeanie Johnston Team
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story