We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamborine Mountain Distillery

233 Reviews

Tamborine Mountain Distillery

233 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Tamborine Mountain
Deluxe Winery Tour to Tamborine Mountain, includes gourmet two course lunch
US$115.77 per adult
Popular: Booked by 363 travellers!
Full view
Location
Contact
10-14 Macdonnell Road, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272 Australia
Get to know the area
Full Day Mount Tamborine Winery Tour from Gold Coast
Wine Tasting & Winery Tours

Full Day Mount Tamborine Winery Tour from Gold Coast

27 reviews
Explore the Mount Tamborine wine region on this all-day tour. After a convenient hotel pickup, board a private minibus on the Gold Coast. Travel through picturesque valleys with scenic mountain views while learning about the area’s wine-making history from an informative guide. Then, stop at four wineries and either a brewery or distillery, enjoying multiple tastings at each. A delicious two-course lunch, snacks and water are also included.
US$115.77 per adult
233Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 167
  • 54
  • 8
  • 1
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Elizabethrose42 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Redcliffe, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
My friend and I realised that tastings of liqueurs and spirits are a great opportunity for mindfulness. And it’s easy to be mindful in the beautiful room/building in which the tastings are done. Our server was very genuine and friendly and gave just the right amount of info. The limoncello continues to be utterly magnificent (been a fan for over 10 years) Today’s find was a Lychee and Elderflower Liqueur which was delicate and complex and just a really delightful surprise
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Coral P wrote a review Sep. 2020
Canberra, Australia44 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a lovely visit to this distillery just around the corner at the end of Gallery Walk. For $5.00 you get three liqueurs and one spirit tasting. My husband and I tasted each others so we got more tastings. They were really quite delicious and we ended up buying three bottles of some very tasty liqueurs in beautiful bottles. They would be a great present but we are keeping ours. It would be easy to walk out with half a dozen bottles full of different flavours if you like something small but tasty after dinner. An artist/owner used to do the pattern on the bottles by hand but now they do prints of the originals and it is done mechanically as it was too much for one person to do. An unexpected pleasure to finish off our great day in the mountains.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon C, General Manager at Tamborine Mountain Distillery
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Coral, Thank you so much for your great review and so glad you enjoyed your visit and of course the tasting and your purchases. Do drop by next time you are visiting Tamborine Mountain as we love to see our loyal customers back and get their feedback on how they enjoyed their purchases. In the meantime keep well and keep safe.
Read more
Vanessa W wrote a review Aug. 2020
Gold Coast, Australia4 contributions
Was really looking forward to this as I’ve been to tastings before ,but was disappointed that our group of 4 was given the menu of drinks select 4 and they bring them to u to try ! There was no explanation of the drinks by our server no background history of the distillery & they said they weren’t that busy for a Saturday so they actually had time to do that . So unless your a big tour group expect that’s how your tasting will go . Apparently it used to be better a few years ago but alas it seemed just about getting people in and out to cater for the mass groups .
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon C, General Manager at Tamborine Mountain Distillery
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Nessy247, Thanks for your review which I must say, I read with some sadness and disappointment. Having read it a few times, I feel you maybe misunderstand a few matters pertaining to the current situation we all find ourselves. For clarification, it is not us who have changed the rules of engagement with our beloved customers, but rather the Queensland Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young. She alone now calls the shots and dictates the modus operandi of our Distillery, and indeed all licensed venues, as she plans and manages the best way to keep us all safe. For your information, we (and every other Tasting Room in the State), are legally obliged to operate under what are very different rules than would have existed during your previous visits. Please note that these rules are set out primarily for you, and for every other one of our customers, to ensure the safety and well being of all who visit our venue.. As there seems to be some misunderstanding over these matters, we therefore feel it only fair to give all readers a proper and balanced perspective of why we have had to completely change the way we currently engage with our customers. This way we can also explain to readers the current State and Federal Government rules that dictate the operation and service of food and drinks throughout Queensland. Firstly things are certainly not like the were "years ago" as you state. Sadly we are in the middle of a global and deadly pandemic, the likes of which, none of us have ever experienced. To stay open I am afraid the rules of customer service have changed everywhere, and changed quite dramatically. Every patron MUST now be seated if they wish to do a tasting and to be served their choice of drinks. They MUST also fill in a detailed Covid-19 Contract Tracing form. There is nothing we can or will be able to presently do to change these procedures so whilst you feel "disappointed" with this approach, and not stand at the bar and enjoy a yarn as in days gone by, I am afraid that this the 'New Normal" and we must all learn to accept and adapt to the current situation if we want to be allowed to stay open and survive as a business. Secondly the "menu" you mention, actually goes way and beyond just a product list. It does have a very comprehensive amount of information about our award winning range of drinks and our recommendations. The best sellers and categorisation plus the recommended sequence to select, plus the ABV % of every single drink, is very clearly shown. We even give a suggested tasting sequence for our first time visitors. I am a bit perplexed at your third comments as we have just closed off our busiest month of sales in our 27 year history. Set against a table limit of 50 patrons at any one time, I feel our staff have actually gone way and beyond what management could have ever have expected of them. If we have a slight lull over lunchtimes, as unlike wineries, we do not serve food, then we are certainly busy restocking the shelves and prepping for the afternoon visitors with rarely enough time for even catch a bite to eat. A $5 tasting fee most certainly could not spare staff time to visit each table and explain to each couple or group the whole history of the Company at anytime over the weekend. If customers ever do ask a question, our staff do of course take as much time as possible to answer such specifics and provide detailed responses as time allows. The whole Tasting Room is also packed with the memorabilia and awards that clearly explain the long and proud history of the Distillery. The large Museum is the main exhibit taking up centre stage to the left of the main bar area. I doubt that there is any other venue on the Mountain that is as transparent as we are in providing the visual and interactive history of our products, our founders or the processes and ingredients we use to make Australia's most internationally awarded liquor range this century. Regarding your final allegations of us "just catering for mass groups", I can assure you that this could not be further from the truth. We believe that we have done more than any other venue on the Mountain to develop an equitable Covid 19 Safe plan for all types of our Distillery customers. For the record, we currently limit tour groups to no more than 15 persons and limit total tour group numbers to 50% of the seating at any one time. Adopting this game plan as best we can ensures that "walk in" customers can at least still get a tasting whenever humanly possible. For your information, we have cancelled and refunded far more numbers of bus group patrons, who have turned up late, than we have had to turn away "walk-ins' who have just arrived at the Distillery without a booking. Also in our defence, and as way of explanation, we are partnering with the nearby Eagle Heights Hotel Resort, who can accept our bigger tour groups to do Tastings and Sales of our best selling products. They have been a godsend these last two months as the lock down restrictions have relaxed and we have been inundated with visitors from S.E Queensland, keen to visit Mt Tamborine for a long overdue break. Finally may I apologise for this long explanation, but I am afraid your comments have hit a raw nerve and do not sit well with our hard working staff as explained above. I can assure you that is really difficult just trying to keep any business running at present and we feel it only fair we are allowed to explain why things may have changed in these extraordinary times. On a positive note, it does seem the vast majority of our customers are able to accept the dynamics of these ever changing Covid-19 Safe rules, as we are still listed on Tripadvisor as ..... "#1 of 22 things to do in Tamborine Mountain". I trust you may now understand why the changes to our normal routines and I would hope that we can meet with you and your friends again in happier and less stressful times. So please feel free to visit us again (midweek preferably) and I would be more than happy to give your group a personal tour of the Distillery, a guided tour of the Museum and a rundown on our long and illustrious history. We can also provide a complimentary tasting of a few of our new drinks that have become hot sellers in the last few months. Keep well and keep safe Nessy
Read more
123free wrote a review Aug. 2020
Brisbane, Australia479 contributions406 helpful votes
You really must visit the Distillery!! It's just off Gallery Walk and they have a $5 tasting option for 4 drinks. They were all delicious and different. You can purchase from there or order online when you get home. They had lots of different size options and so many choices of spirits and liqueurs. The service was also awesome. HIGHLY recommended!!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon C, Manager at Tamborine Mountain Distillery
Responded Aug. 16, 2020
Hi 123free, many thanks for your kind words and glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you back soon.
Read more
Anthony H wrote a review Aug. 2020
Gold Coast, Australia290 contributions30 helpful votes
Worth the visit, so many nice rums, vodkas and gins. The host were very nice and had good knowledge. Worth the visit.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon C, Manager at Tamborine Mountain Distillery
Responded Aug. 16, 2020
Hi Anthony, Many thanks for your recent review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Previous