We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor web site may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our web site:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bear Essentials/Silver Bear Centre

32 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Bear Essentials/Silver Bear Centre

32 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
32Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carolyn L wrote a review Sep. 2019
2 contributions
Wonderful evening of cookery/crafts and fun. Lovely tea/coffee eats and treats afterwards. Highly recommend it as crafts workshop.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from BearEssentials2000, Owner at Bear Essentials/Silver Bear Centre
Responded Sep. 10, 2019
Thank you so much for your positive review Carolyn. We do enjoy our yearly heritage days very much. Kind regards Anke
Read more
673jacquelinew wrote a review Jun. 2018
Dublin, Ireland26 contributions16 helpful votes
Bear essential in Bawnboy is different. It is perfect for children to make soft toys. The team there work with the children so they create their own soft toy. My husband and I went with twins aged 5 in 2017 and we had a super time. One made a horse and the other a bear. They had such fun and came away with their lovely creations plus owners certificates. We had tea/coffee miwadi after our hard work. This is a great place to bring children say from 4 to 12 providing they like soft toys. Of course any age can enjoy a soft toy. Perfect for those summer days when they are off school. It is not free but it is a lovely experience.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from BearEssentials2000, Owner at Bear Essentials/Silver Bear Centre
Responded Jun. 25, 2018
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about Bear Essentials. It’s great to hear that you all enjoyed your time with us. We love to help to create memories through our workshops and our teddy bear gift shop. Time is so precious especially when you have children. We hope to see again very soon. Anke ??
Read more
Clare M wrote a review Jul. 2017
Ballymoney, United Kingdom14 contributions13 helpful votes
I found Bear Essentials when looking for someone to repair my daughter's much loved teddy bear. Anke was very helpful even replying when she was in Germany. My daughter really wanted to send her teddy to Anke and we posted him off. After a bad experience with the courier Crumble arrived. Anke was very patient with me making multiple calls and texts and was extremely helpful when I was panicking Crumble would not make it. He was in the teddy hospital and we called today to collect him. Our daughter was so happy with the way he has been fixed he is like a new bear. The shop is a must see for anyone who loves bears. I even left with a new friend. We will definitely be back. Thank you for making what could have been a very bad experience for my daughter parting with her teddy a wonderful experience for her. Anna is so happy. She hasn't let him go since she got him back. I cannot recommend enough.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from BearEssentials2000, Owner at Bear Essentials/Silver Bear Centre
Responded Jul. 24, 2017
Thank you so much for your positive review. Every bear has a story attached and of course an owner to the story. And every experience is important especially when a child's teddy is involved. Well done, Anna, that you were able to part with your bear until he got his old strengths back. Now he can look after you much better and both of you can collect lovely memories for more years to come. It was very nice meeting you and we hope to see you again in the future. Big hug for Crumble...
Read more
Donagh M wrote a review Feb. 2017
Dublin, Ireland46 contributions26 helpful votes
This had been recommended in a brochure provided by our hotel. Both shops were closed when we arrived at midday. We could see someone in the kitchen of the house but they ignored us. I would recommend calling ahead instead of wasting time driving up the lane.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from BearEssentials2000, Owner at Bear Essentials/Silver Bear Centre
Responded Apr. 29, 2017
Donagh just seeing your review here. Sorry for not getting back to you earlier and very sorry that we were closed on the day. If we are providing workshops somewhere else we sometimes have to close for a view hours but there should be always a note on the door. If people ring the bell to the shop we always open even on holidays. If you visiting again or like to purchase something from us online please send us an email in advance and we make it up to you. Kind regards Anke ??
Read more
B C wrote a review Sep. 2016
Ireland39 contributions17 helpful votes
I can't count myself among those bear lovers but after this place I'm open to change! A fabulous collection of bears in such a small shop - really lovely quality, all types from collector items to soft cuddly characters. A wealth of information from owner had us enthralled. Beautiful setting with space for children's play ground and bear centre we unfortunately had no time to visit. But we left with two heirlooms going to good homes!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from BearEssentials2000, Owner at Bear Essentials/Silver Bear Centre
Responded Sep. 19, 2019
So sorry we have never responded to you taking the time to giving us a review. Thank you so much. It means a lot!!! Hope the 2 bears are happy and healthy. Lots of love from Bawnboy in Ireland.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Bear Essentials/Silver Bear Centre